Rhapsody (Bellator Saga #5) by Cecilia London

rhapsody“I’m never going to stop loving you, Caroline. It’s just not possible.”
Major Caroline Gerard returns from a dangerous mission battered and bruised. Terrified to confront the emotional and physical gap between her and her husband, she’s determined to do whatever it takes to avoid reality. 
Commander Jack McIntyre has been tasked with saving American democracy, but he has to save his marriage first. He’s desperate to regain the passionate connection that he and his wife once shared. And a man on a mission will sacrifice anything to succeed. 
In the meantime, the rebellion is in need of a catalyst to spur international action to stop President Santos’ increasingly unstable behavior. As Caroline and Jack repair their hearts, each day brings new secrets and new challenges, and a revelation that could shatter everything they thought was true. 

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I don’t think I’ve ever read a series that kept me on such an emotional roller coaster. The books that made up the first trilogy in the Bellator Saga were a mix of past and present and centered around Caroline and her memories, her torture at the hands of the Fed and her escape. After all readers went through with her in the beginning, I never would have guessed that I would spend at least half of the second trilogy totally irritated with her.

Okay, so it’s not that I didn’t totally understand what Caroline had been through. As strong as she was, it would have been hard to come out of that horror in one piece. I also understand her confusion about Jack… but this was Jack. He was suffering too. Not only from their shared loss but from the crippling guilt that he had to live with. And then… just when things were about to turn around, I ended up being mad at Jack. Totally unreasonable, I know, but it wouldn’t have been the first time that Cecilia London brought out the worst in me.

It seems with every installment in this series there’s just a little bit more… well… of everything. More revelations, more heartbreak, more intensity, more danger and in the case of Rhapsody – a lot more heat. By the end of Rhapsody, things still weren’t perfect, but they were a heck of a lot better and as far as this reader is concerned, it’s about time! I was so tired of being upset with Caroline and the way she treated everyone. Even though I understood there were a lot of underlying reasons, which included her way of punishing herself, I was right there with Jack as every step forward inevitably pushed him two steps back. Thank God he had more patience than I did.

Pretty much every book in this series has ended in a cliff hanger and Rhapsody was no exception. This one ended in a jaw dropping revelation that… well… Let’s put it this way… one of the first things I thought when I finished the book was ‘how in the heck am I going to review this?’ When I posted that thought on social media, the author helpfully commented that I should ‘just talk about the sex’… Did I mention that Cecilia London is very close to the top of my ‘Evil Author’ list?

If you haven’t read any of the books in the Bellator Saga, I strongly encourage you to pick up Dissident. The series starts with a bang and doesn’t let up. It’s full of intrigue, scary politics, heated romance, danger, humor, violence and yeah, more than just a little bit of smexiness… The author pushes pretty much every button that can be pushed and best of all, makes you think… what if? *shivers*

DragonFlyRating5