Dissident (Bellator Saga #1) by Cecilia London

dissident new coverShe once was important. Now she’s considered dangerous.
In a new America where almost no one can be trusted, Caroline lies unconscious in a government hospital as others decide her fate. She is a political dissident, wanted for questioning by a brutal regime that has come to power in a shockingly easy way. As she recovers from her injuries, all she has are her memories. And once she wakes up, they may not matter anymore.

I’m not exactly sure what I expected when I picked up Dissident. Whatever those expectations were, it definitely went beyond them. Although it started a little slow (minus the prologue… there was nothing slow about that) once I got into the story, I couldn’t put it down.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1One thing that you have to understand about Dissident is that you will walk away with more questions than answers. That’s not a bad thing, at least it wasn’t for me. When the author asked me if I’d like to read and review Dissident, I was totally honest with her. It takes me a while to get into a Dystopian book. I just have a hard time wrapping my head around the alternate worlds. She explained to me that there was a lot of back story in Dissident with flashbacks that ease readers into the world she created. Once I started reading, I thought I was going to be totally confused. The chapters alternate between the present and the past. Turns out, it was the perfect way to draw me in.

DissidentMost of the book is focused on the past. It’s Caroline’s personal story and you get to know her and her friends very well. It makes what’s happening in the present hard to understand. That’s the scary part. There’s enough reality in Dissident to make the future that Caroline faces totally believable.

Like I said, there are a lot of unanswered questions at the end of Dissident. Readers still don’t know exactly what events took place to bring Caroline to where she ended up. Her fate and others hang in the balance at the end. One book under her belt and Cecilia London already has the evil author thing down. Conscience, the next book in the Bellator Saga is scheduled to release in August… Needless to say, I can’t wait.

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

