A Hunger Like No Other (Immortals After Dark #2) by Kresley Cole

A mythic warrior who’ll stop at nothing to possess her . . .
After enduring years of torture from the vampire horde, Lachlain MacRieve, leader of the Lykae Clan, is enraged to find the predestined mate he’s waited millennia for is a vampire. Or partly one. This Emmaline is a small, ethereal half Valkyrie/half vampire, who somehow begins to soothe the fury burning within him.
A vampire captured by her wildest fantasy . . .
Sheltered Emmaline Troy finally sets out to uncover the truth about her deceased parents — until a powerful Lykae claims her as his mate and forces her back to his ancestral Scottish castle. There, her fear of the Lykae — and their notorious dark desires — ebbs as he begins a slow, wicked seduction to sate her own dark cravings.
An all-consuming desire . . .
Yet when an ancient evil from her past resurfaces, will their desire deepen into a love that can bring a proud warrior to his knees and turn a gentle beauty into the fighter she was born to be?
Includes an excerpt from Kresley Cole’s next romance novel, No Rest for the Wicked.

I really need to start paying closer attention to what my blogging buddies are reading. I’ve had this book on my shelf for a couple of months now and ignored it. Why? I really couldn’t tell you. What I can say is that now that I’ve been introduced to Kresley Cole and her Immortals After Dark series there will be no turning back. πŸ˜‰ Is anyone surprised?

I was emotionally pulled into this book from the prologue. The reader’s introduction to Lachlain is as he ends his 150 year of captivity because he scents the mate he has been searching his very long existence for. The lengths he goes to and the pain he endures to escape pretty much sets the tone for the intensity of the pull that Emmaline will continue to have on him.

Emmaline, of course, has no clue. She’s very meek, lacks self confidence and has spent her entire life being different. Pairing her with a VERY alpha male werewolf who can’t physically or mentally take no for an answer was a brilliant scenario. It’s been a long time since a book refused to let me put it down and that’s exactly what A Hunger Like No Other did.

Lachlain and Emma were the main draw, but the supporting characters in this book were just as developed. There were some I definitely liked more than others, but the ground has been laid for some interesting pairings. Speaking of which, one of the things that I think I’m really going to like about this series is the variety of paranormals present. I also like Cole’s twist on some of the mythology surrounding them. They’re familiar, yet she has made them her own.

The next book is No Rest for the Wicked and I can’t wait to see what happens next. It definitely won’t be long before I pick it up. πŸ˜‰ Lesson learned!

Check out what other readers had to say about A Hunger Like No Other:

Felicia’s Goodreads Review

Ruby’s Reads’ Review

Amanda’s @ On a Book Bender Review

Kelly’s Reading the Paranormal Review

By creativedeeds

8 comments on “A Hunger Like No Other (Immortals After Dark #2) by Kresley Cole

    • Thanks! I think I’ve found another series to gush over. There is a prequel to this series too, The Warlord Wants Forever. I haven’t read it yet and some of it is referenced to in this book, but I didn’t get lost not knowing. So, actually, this book should probably be numbered 1 and the prequel should be .5 since it’s a novella. Let me know if you pick it up πŸ˜‰

  1. I love this book! Which you probably know already. The Lykae books are the best of IAD series, but I enjoy the demon ones, too. I’ve been much less successful with the vampire installments, and I haven’t read The Warlord Wants Forever. Lothaire was great, though, so you have that to look forward to!

    • Yep, I figured that out Ruby! πŸ˜‰ I really loved this one too. I’ve got Bout-of-Books coming up so it will be a little while before I pick up the next one but I can’t wait!

      • My advice? Don’t wait. For me, this was a series that I couldn’t wait continue. Every book that I read in-between just irritated me!

      • I already have the next one in my shopping cart at Amazon. Can’t squeeze it in to Bout-of-Books, but I’ll be cross-eyed by the end of the week anyway, so I won’t notice. πŸ˜‰

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed this book! I love this series! I absolutely agree with you – Cole creates a great mythology, at the same time familiar and new, that and the supporting characters make a really rich world. Great review!

Leave a comment