Permanent Ink (Art & Soul #1) by Avon Gale & Piper Vaughn

At twenty-three, Poe Montgomery is going nowhere. He still lives in his father’s basement and spends most of his time tagging with his friends. When an arrest lands him in debt, Poe accepts the front desk job at Permanent Ink, the tattoo shop owned by his father’s best friend, Jericho McAslan. Jericho is nearly twice Poe’s age, but with his ink and prematurely graying hair, he quickly takes the starring role in Poe’s hottest fantasies.
Jericho is known for his ability to transform poorly designed tattoos into works of art, but he was once as aimless and misdirected as Poe. Wanting to pay it forward the way someone once did for him, Jericho makes Poe his apprentice and is determined to keep things strictly professional. Easier said than done when Poe makes his interest—and his daddy kink—abundantly clear.
Jericho can’t resist Poe or their intense chemistry for long. But between the age gap, tension with Poe’s father, and Poe’s best friend calling him a sellout, they’ll need to ensure they’re both on the same page before they can rewrite their rocky start into something permanent.

This one had its ups and downs for me, but in the end I was pleasantly surprised….

Okay, I discovered something as I read Permanent Ink. I’m not a fan of ‘Daddy’ kink. It may not have been so weird if not for the fact that Jericho’s best friend was Poe’s father, but that obviously upped the weird factor for me. Other than that, I really did like Jericho and Poe’s story and given the fact that Jericho is the founder and owner of the tattoo parlor, this was a perfect place to start the Art & Soul series.

As obvious as it is, I can’t not say something about the Poe/Raven references in Permanent Ink. It was a creative bonus that kind of drew me in (I may or may not have mentioned before that I have a thing for all things Poe 😉 )

There were a lot of other relationships in Permanent Ink besides the one that developed between Jericho and Poe. Some of them were more complicated than others and not all of them were healthy. I loved both Poe and Jericho’s relationship with Poe’s dad. I also liked the relationship between Jericho and his other good friend Callum. Blue and Poe? Not so much.

The jury’s still out on whether or not I continue the Art & Soul series. I’m a huge fan of authors who turn my opinion around about characters that I didn’t like. This writing duo has their work cut out for them if the next couple turns out to be Callum and Blue. *sigh*

 

 

Leave a Reply

