Kill Game (Dana McIntyre Must Die #2) by S.M. Reine

Someone’s importing illegal metals into Las Vegas. Iron, to be specific: the only substance that can instantly kill one of the deadly sidhe. But there are no sidhe in Las Vegas. Not anymore. Dana McIntyre killed the last of them two weeks earlier.
Importing the iron seems to be a matter of life and death, though. Mostly death. People are being slaughtered over these imports, and Dana can’t figure out why. It’s a puzzle that must be solved quickly and quietly. If the Office of Preternatural Affairs realizes how destabilized Las Vegas has become, they’ll shut down vampire hunters like Dana.
She has no choice but to partner with Nissa Royal, the right hand of the city’s master vampire, to hunt down the iron’s buyer. Nissa’s interested in a lot more than a functional partnership from Dana, though. She won’t settle for anything less than Dana’s soul…

Did that just happen? Well, of course it did… this is a SM Reine book after all – so why am I so surprised???

If you’ve been following my reviews of Dana McIntyer Must Die, you know that I wasn’t originally a fan of Dana. This isn’t the first character that SM Reine has made me like who I originally didn’t, but I can honestly say that it’s the most surprising. She’s obviously growing on me. That’s just one of the things in this series that I didn’t see coming.

For the record, I also had no intention, after reading Drawing Dead, to have any sympathetic feelings at all toward Nissa. I have to admit, I came close, but for the most part, I was internally screaming at Dana not to let her guard down. Just like Anthony and Lincoln and Brianna. There are times that I wish I could jump into a book and prevent the inevitable – even if I have no clue exactly what the inevitable is.

So, a lot happened in Kill Game. More layers of Nissa were revealed. The schemes of the Las Vegas Vampires became even more complicated. Dana and Penny… so yeah, there was heartbreak, danger, mystery and… there’s not much more I can say without giving too much away.

One of the things I’ve always loved about any of the series in this crazy world created by SM Reine is the interaction between the characters. They’re witty, smart and have a LOT of personality. That’s not lacking in Dana McIntyer Must Die. I’m kinda falling in love with the banter between Dana, Brianna and Anthony. I also totally didn’t see that coming either. When Lincoln and Penny are thrown into the mix, it gets even better. (FYI – Lincoln is one of the only characters in this mix that I actually liked going into the series. I’ve made no secret of the fact that I want MORE of Lincoln’s story since Genesis. 😉 )

Again, even though this series can be read as a standalone, I still don’t recommend it. Since I’ve been reading this series since Seasons of the Moon was relatively new, I guess you could consider me just a little partial. It also means that I know what you’ll be missing if you skip the background that the rest of the series is built on.

The next book in the series is Cashing Out and after the finale of Kill Game, trust me, it can’t come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

