Drawing Dead (Dana McIntyre Must Die #1) by S.M. Reine

The vampire slayer is turning into a vampire? Over her dead body.
Dana McIntyre has been bitten by a master vampire. She’s infected with the venom. And after killing hundreds of vampires to keep Las Vegas safe, she’d rather die than turn.
There might be a cure. But the only way to get it is through Nissa Royal, a vampire with close ties to the masters of Las Vegas. Nissa is dangerous — too dangerous to be allowed to live, much less work alongside.
But if Dana dies, vampires win Vegas. If she doesn’t die, she becomes one of the bloodless. The cure’s her only chance. In this deadly game of hold ’em, Dana’s drawing dead, and whatever happens next, there’s no changing her losing hand. Dana only knows one thing: If she’s going down, she’s taking as many vampires as possible on her way out…

I’ve got to admit that I haven’t been a fan of Dana since Genesis. Which brings up the point that even though each series in S.M. Reine’s crazy, creative world can be read as a stand alone, I still don’t recommend it. That’s probably because I’ve read pretty much all the books in all the series (I still have a couple in the Descent series that I need to read.) I’m honestly not obsessed, I just love these books and will continue to strongly suggest to anyone who will listen… READ THEM ALL… but, I digress. Readers met Dana when she was just a little girl. She’s come a long way since then and she’s not so little and in many ways, not so nice. I wasn’t really excited about an entire series devoted to Dana. There was another character that I really wanted to get to know better, but that’s another story, for hopefully another time. *sigh* Anyway, I should have known better. I should have trusted this author to give me a whole new perspective once she let us in Dana’s head. Not only did she semi-change my negative opinion toward Dana, she gave me a totally different feeling toward at least two other characters in the process.

So, back to Dana. She’s pretty much larger than life… and I’m not just referring to her physical appearance. Everything about her is over the top, unapologetic and most of the time, inappropriate. Still, there’s something about her. Something that makes those few she’s close to care enough to want to protect her, mainly from herself. Dana’s her own worst enemy and that trait becomes even worse when she gets bitten. It may even cause one of the people she cares about most to pull away. The thing about Dana is that she loves as hard as she fights and when one of her family suffers, she takes it personally. Her safety and well-being don’t matter as long as the people she’s trying to protect are safe from harm. She takes unnecessary risks that drive her crew nuts, but they stand behind her regardless. I kinda love that about all of them now… yeah, I didn’t see that one coming.

Then there were the bad guys. Some were worse than others and that designation switched back and forth. Sometimes it’s the most unassuming character that you need to watch out for and Nissa was one of them. Being in her head, even for a little while, was a very scary place to be.

Just a couple more things worth mentioning. First, in true S.M. Reine form, holds nothing back – the good, the bad and the gore… her descriptions are notorious, but I gotta say, the “expulsion” description was a bit over the top, even for her. *shivers* Then there’s the cover. I’m not someone who judges a book by its cover. I hardly ever mention covers when I review a book, but this one… it’s so perfect. Too often covers don’t even come close to depicting the character within the book. This cover doesn’t just come close, it is totally Dana. I kinda love that.

I didn’t go into Drawing Dead expecting to want to get to know Dana better, but I shouldn’t be surprised that’s exactly what happened.

Leave a Reply

