Deliciously Bitter (Naked Brews #3) by K.B. Jacobs

Three years ago, my perfect life ended. I got trapped inside a burning Army MRAP and watched my friends die. I was the only one to survive, if you can call this survival.
Now I’m the beast of nightmares. Horrific scars mean I don’t leave my house…ever.
But my best friend made sure I continued to live when all I wanted was to give up. I owe him everything, and now he needs me for two weeks.
Two weeks with strangers who I’ll never have to see again. I can do this. I can ignore the stares and revulsion.
But what I can’t ignore is the stunning beauty next door who sees past my scars.
She’s Hollywood royalty. I’m a recluse, a hermit. Her life is glamour and paparazzi. My life is NOT. No matter how much I want her, I’m no good for her.
Beauty and the beast was a romantic fairy tale, but this is real life and she deserves better…

I not so secretly begged for this one after meeting Damian in Deliciously Smooth, the first book in the Naked Brews series. Damian deserved his HEA, but I knew he would break my heart. The lesson here dear readers is to be careful what you ask for. So yeah, the #evilauthorduo strikes again!

I try not to play favorites, but Deliciously Bitter may just earn that title in this series. I’ve loved all the Naked Brew crew, but I’ve obviously had a soft spot for Damian since the beginning. He was a broken hero who had become a recluse. He had a domineering mother who meant well, but didn’t know when to quit or back off and his only friend was Walsh, who was kinda broken in his own way. It was understandable that a request from Walsh was the only thing that could get Damian out of hiding. It took Alex to break down the walls he had built around himself. It didn’t happen right away. Damian was out of practice when it came to dealing with people and Alex… well, Alex was Alex. Once you ‘meet’ her, you’ll understand. She also had her own share of family issues to deal with. To be honest, I wasn’t sure what kind of connection that Alex and Damian would have… I should have known that this writing duo had everything under control. Damian needed someone who wouldn’t take no for an answer and give him something to really live for. Turns out Alex was the perfect woman for him and I ended up loving them together.

Of course, nothing is ever easy, especially the path to true love. Then there was the other problem with the threat against Naked Brews. Needless to say, there was more than enough romance, danger, mystery and tension to go around. I was sorry to say goodbye to these characters, but the authors did an amazing job of bringing the series to a satisfying end.

Even though I know Deliciously Bitter marks the end of the Naked Brews series, I’m hoping that this isn’t the last that we’ve seen of the Naked Brews crew – especially since I just found out that another series is on its way… stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

