Finding Our Forever (Silver Springs #1) by Brenda Novak

The search for her birth mother brought Cora Kelly to the New Horizons Boys Ranch. Getting a job there was easy enough, but confiding in Aiyana, the ranch’s owner, that she’s really her daughter? Cora’s not sure she can do that, not unless she’s confident the news will be welcomed. And once she gets to know Elijah Turner–Aiyana’s adopted son and ranch manager–that decision becomes even more difficult.
Although Elijah can’t deny his deep attraction to Cora, he’s always struggled with trust. Anyone with his past would, and there’s something about the ranch’s newest employee that isn’t exactly as it seems. But if the feelings she awakes in his guarded heart are any indication, she might be just what he’s long been waiting for.

Yet another confession… Finding Our Forever is the first book by Brenda Novak that I’ve read. Although I do have a short list of favorite authors, I’m not a huge contemporary M/F reader for the most part. I do like to sneak one in from time to time, so hen I saw this offered for review, I thought I’d give it a try. I wasn’t disappointed, but I wasn’t blown away either. Don’t let that deter you though because it was a sweet story.

Actually, one of the reasons why I picked this one up was because of the description. I thought that I could relate to Cora. No, I’m not adopted, but I didn’t know my father. To me, he was, and still is, just a name on my birth certificate. The only thing that I was ever told about him was that I really didn’t want to know anything about him. (Try telling that to a teen and see what happens.) I’ve gotten over the curiosity, to an extent, but there’s always that nagging little voice that just wonders… I may never have followed through or pushed the issue, but I still knew exactly what drove Cora to jump at the chance to find her birth mother.

There was a lot more to the story though. Eli was easy to fall for, especially for the way he rose above everything he had gone through as a child. Even the supporting family and friends were great. There was a lot to admire about Aiyana and the life that she built for herself and the boys that she helped. Basically, this was a feel good story that I did enjoy, but things got wrapped up a little too easily. I’m not usually a fan of drama, but there was a lot of build up and tension centered around what Cora was hiding and how she was going to reveal it to everyone. The actual moment was kind of anti-climatic. Regardless, I’m glad I read Finding Our Forever. I’m not sure if I’ll pick up the rest of the Silver Springs series, but you never know. I might even check out some of Brenda Novak’s other series. 😉

Leave a Reply

