Triumph (Bellator Saga #6) by Cecilia London

triumphAll of your ideals, your hopes and dreams…they cease to matter if you abandon them in your darkest hour. We have to see this through to the end.”
Jack McIntyre and Caroline Gerard have never shied away from a challenge. As dual commanders of the American rebel forces, they now face the greatest adversity of their lives. Every decision has permanent consequences. Relationships are tested and restored. Hard truths come to light. When the reality of their situation finally hits them, there is one thing they know for certain.
No sacrifice is too great for love.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1

Just a small disclaimer before you read any further. If you haven’t read all the books written so far, don’t read any further. I promise not to spoil anything in this review for those of you who haven’t read Triumph. However, writing a spoiler free review for this book is going to be hard enough. Not referring to any of the previous books is going to be pretty much impossible. Consider yourself warned. 😀

It’s been 2 years since Dissident, the first book in the Bellator Saga, was released. 2 years since readers were introduced to Caroline and Jack. 2 years of suspense, romance, anger, anguish, torture, terror and heartbreak. The first 3 books, Dissident, Conscience and Sojourn were the first step in Caroline’s journey, history and survival. Phoenix, and Rhapsody continued her journey, but she was broken almost beyond recognition. Triumph was the final installment and it was just as emotional, suspenseful and powerful as all the other books in the Bellator Saga. It was also so much more than expected.

So… if you read Rhapsody you know that it ended in a jaw dropping revelation from an unexpected source. Readers will be happy to know that Triumph picked up where Rhapsody left off, pretty much mid conversation. I’m not gonna lie, I had hoped for this revelation for several books now. At least since Phoenix, but I’d given up hope and became resigned to the fact – the same as Jack and Caroline had to. The revelation wasn’t proof though and false hope can be dangerous.

For the record, I really and truly was hoping for resolutions without tears in Triumph. No. Such. Luck. I really should have known better. Ms. London isn’t known for holding back and she didn’t change that in Triumph. So yes, tears were shed. Tears of happiness, tears from being overwhelmed, tears of sadness… more tears than I expected. Which means of course, Ms. London’s #EvilAuthor status is still in good standing. No worries.

If you’re wondering how things finally turned out for Caroline and Jack, sorry. I promised, no spoilers. I will tell you that the title of this book was very fitting. There were moments that I cheered both Caroline and Jack on. There were moments that my heart broke for them as well as moments that I wanted to celebrate with them.

The only thing I have left to say is something I’ve said almost every time I’ve reviewed a book in this series. I don’t think I’ve read any books that have stuck with me the way that the books in the Bellator Saga have. I’ve recommended them to a few other readers who I know would like them. More importantly, I knew that they would touch them… the same way they touched me. One of those people said that she would love to read them, but not just yet. Seems after my quick synopsis of the Bellator Saga, she felt the author came a little too close to reality and maybe even current events. Who knew?

DragonFlyRating5

Leave a Reply

