Earthless (The Survivors #1) by Jason Letts

earthlessIn 2166, Earth was destroyed. It wasn’t an alien spacefleet firing from above. It was a bomb planted in the center of the planet before humanity even existed. In an instant, the human population dropped from 11 billion to 1,066. 
I’m Loris Roderick, set to take command of the Magellan space station. I didn’t know I was to become the de facto leader of our species when its survival hung by a thread. 
We should run, hide in some corner of the galaxy to eke out what existence we can. But I’d rather we get our revenge. 

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1It’s been a while since I’ve read any books by Jason Letts, but picking up Earthless reminded me why I enjoyed his books so much. His fantasy worlds are complex and intriguing. Even though Sci-Fi isn’t my ‘go-to’ genre, I still enjoyed this fast paced and suspenseful introduction into the Survivors series.

Loris was a commander who was set up to fail, at least he felt that way. He had less experience than others in line for a command position, but he was good at what he did. There were those in the ranks who thought he only got to where he was out of respect for his mother. He had a lot to prove before things got even more out of control and Earth was destroyed.

There were a lot of twists and turns in Earthless. More than one character had ulterior motives and a few weren’t exactly who they seemed. It was hard to know exactly who to trust, which kept things interesting. Loris didn’t take any of this lying down even when he had to fight against pretty much everyone to do what he knew was right.

Earthless didn’t end in a cliff hanger exactly, but there is definitely much more to come. The second book in the series, Sightless, was recently released and I’m sure it won’t be long before I add it to my official TBR list. It so happens I have a couple of other Jason Letts books that are also begging to be read. Stay tuned. 😉

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

