Everyday History by Alice Archer

everydayhistoryHeadstrong Ruben Harper has yet to meet an obstacle he can’t convert to a speed bump. He’s used to getting what he wants from girls, but when he develops a fascination for a man, his wooing skills require an upgrade. After months of persuasion, he scores a dinner date with Henry Normand that morphs into an intense weekend. The unexpected depth of their connection scares Ruben into fleeing.
Shy, cautious Henry, Ruben’s former high school history teacher, suspects he needs a wake-up call, and Ruben appears to be his siren. But when Ruben bolts, Henry is left struggling to find closure. Inspired by his conversations with Ruben, Henry begins to write articles about the memories stored in everyday objects. The articles seduce Ruben with details from their weekend together and trigger feelings too strong to avoid. As Henry’s snowballing fame takes him out of town and further out of touch, Ruben stretches to close the gaps that separate them.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I’m not sure if I’m the average reviewer. I read a lot of books for review, but I can honestly say that I don’t read any books that I don’t want to read or wouldn’t consider purchasing. If I accept a book from an author for review because they approached me, it’s because there was something about that book that would have made me want to pick it up on my own. Probably about 98% of the books I read for review are books that I requested, either because I had followed the author, genre or even the series. In other words, I’m kind of picky about what I do and don’t read and review by request. I guess my point in this rambling intro is that this is the first book that I’ve read by Alice Archer. After reading the premise, I was intrigued enough to accept her request and I’m most definitely not sorry that I did.

Everyday History was unique in a lot of ways. I like that in a book. Ruben and Henry were definitely interested in each other. Almost to the point of distraction. Henry played by the rules though. He loved his job and respected the boundaries. It wasn’t easy though because Ruben was young and not so cautious. It was totally worth the wait.

Once the barriers were gone, the connection that they had was almost overwhelming. Yet, as much as Henry feels the strength and intensity of that connection, he knows that Ruben needs more life experience, so he lets him go. Only, not exactly.

Ruben kept his distance and so did Henry, but he found ways to reach out to Ruben from a distance. My heart broke right along with Ruben’s as Henry wrote about his memories.

As much as I wanted these two to be together from the beginning and as hard as their separation was on both of them, I’m glad that the romance wasn’t rushed. It ended up making their feelings for each other even stronger. There was a little bit of mystery involved in the length of their separation and even though I figured out who the culprit was long before the characters did, I still enjoyed the confrontation and climax.

And yes, you’ve probably already realized that even though this was my first Alice Archer book, it will most definitely not be my last.

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

