All the Wrong Places (Bluewater Bay #14) by Ann Gallagher

AllTheWrongPlaces_600x900Three cheating girlfriends in a row have given skateboarder Brennan Cross the same excuse: he wasn’t meeting their needs. Desperate and humiliated, he goes to the professionals at the local sex shop for advice.
Zafir Hamady, a sales clerk at Red Hot Bluewater, has an unusual theory: he doesn’t think Brennan is a bad lover. In fact, he doesn’t think Brennan is heterosexual. Or sexual at all, for that matter. He also can’t stop thinking about Brennan. But even if he’s right and Brennan really is asexual, that doesn’t mean Zafir has a chance. Brennan’s never dated a man, and Zafir’s never met anyone who’s game for a Muslim single father with a smart mouth and a GED.
Brennan’s always thought of himself as straight. But when sex is explicitly out of the mix, he finds himself drawn to Zafir for the qualities and interests they share. And Zafir can’t help enjoying Brennan’s company and the growing bond between Brennan and his son. They work well together, but with so many issues between them, doubts creep in, and Brennan’s struggle with his identity could push away the one person he didn’t know he could love.
 

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Oh, how I loved these two young men. I know I’ve said that before, but there was just something about Brennan and Zafir’s story that made me melt for them. *sigh*

All the Wrong Places began with Brennan mulling over the fact that he’d been dumped… again. He’s so desperate for an answer to why he isn’t doing ‘it’ right (according to the girls that have dumped him) that he finds himself in Bluewater Bay’s Red Hot Bluewater. The initial encounter between Zafir and Brennan immediately sold me on this one. I honestly don’t think that my first search for answers in Brennan’s situation would have been the local sex shop, but I loved the fact that it was Brennan’s.

There was so much to love about All the Wrong Places I don’t really know where to start. Obviously, I loved Brennan and Zafir. I also loved Zafir’s son, but I’m a sucker for a smart, witty kid who is an integral part of the story. The only thing better was Zafir’s devotion to his son (as overprotective as it was – which was kind of adorable) and Brennan’s budding relationship with him. I also loved Zafir and Brennan’s friends (with the exception of Brennan’s ex-girlfriend…)

Basically, All the Wrong Places was an excellent addition to the Bluewater Bay series in more ways than one. Given the fact that the series has several contributing authors, variety is expected. Sometimes there’s cohesiveness between the stories, which I really like. However, I don’t mind it when it’s missing because each author seems to add another layer to the ‘community’ which makes up Bluewater Bay. Some I’ve liked more than others, but each one adds another dimension. Some also offer readers who follow the series (like me) exposure to aspects of the LGBTQIA genre that they may not go looking for on their own.

I’m not sure what’s next for residents Bluewater Bay or the cast and crew of Wolf’s Landing,  but whatever it is, I’m there. 😉

DragonFlyRating5

 

 

Leave a Reply

