Phoenix (Bellator Saga #4) by Cecilia London

PhoenixOne epic love. Two wounded souls. Three impossible words.
Ripped away from each other by circumstances beyond their control. Reunited in a place they never expected. Separated but never quite apart.
“You’re still the only woman I see. The only woman I need. I know you’re in there somewhere, sweet Caroline. We’re going to find you and we’re going to help you, until you come home to me where you belong. Then we’re going to finish what we started. Together.”
Her confidence shattered, Caroline finally starts to deal with what happened at The Fed. Jack is determined to convince her that she’s more than she thinks she is. That she wasn’t destroyed by her experiences. That their relationship is worth the fight. But will he give up before it’s too late?
Phoenix is the fourth installment in The Bellator Saga. It should be read after the first three novels in the series.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1So yeah, I’m the queen of procrastination, especially when it comes to writing reviews on books I love. It gets worse when I finish a book that I not only loved, but also on books that completely break me… when that same book ends in a cliff hanger that seriously wants me to throw my kindle across the room? Let’s just say I need some serious recovery time. I suppose enough time has passed, so here goes nothing…

Phoenix is the 4th book in the Bellator Saga and the 1st book in the 2nd trilogy. Confused? Put simply, the Bellator Saga is divided into 6 books. The 1st 3  books are Dissident, Conscience and Sojourn. They deal with Caroline’s time with the Fed and her rescue – plus a LOT of background info. The next 3 books, Phoenix, Rhapsody and Triumph make up the 2nd part of the trilogy. Phoenix takes up where Sojourn left off. Now would probably be a good time to reiterate that if you haven’t read the previous books in the Bellator Saga, don’t start here… and don’t read any further. The rest of this review will contain spoilers so consider yourselves warned.

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way…

Just a heads up, if you read Sojourn and assume that because Caroline and Jack are finally reunited… yeah, don’t even go there. Both of them are totally broken. They’ve lived months knowing that the other didn’t survive and, well, the Caroline that Jack knew before the Fed just isn’t there anymore. That doesn’t stop him from trying to find her though.

I can honestly say that this is the first book in the saga that I’ve been truly mad at Caroline. She was borderline cruel to Jack. At first I understood, but the longer she pushed him away the more frustrated with her I became. Being in Jack’s head for a good portion of Phoenix helped with that. His love never wavered and he needed her, but she continually pushed him away.

On the flip side, being in Caroline’s head was painful. She knew what she was doing, she knew she was hurting  him and others around her, but she found ways to justify it. The thing is that it was hard to stay mad at her. Mostly because she wavered and when she did there was a spark of hope and then… yeah… this was not an easy book to read from an emotional standpoint.

Phoenix also kept up with the back story that the rest of the books have had. I really like that aspect, even more than I thought I would. Seeing into Caroline and Jack’s past helped clue readers into what they were both fighting for – both personally and on a much larger scale. Speaking of which, as political dramas go, the Bellator Saga is pretty scary. That’s mainly because truth can sometimes be stranger than fiction and as crazy as things are in this series it wouldn’t take much for some of it to happen and even some of it is not anything that I want to experience… ever. *shivers*

And did I mention that Phoenix ended in a cliff hanger? “Trust the Process” the #evilauthor says “You’ll forgive me in the end” she assumes. I’d hazard a guess that Rhapsody won’t fix everything, but I’m really hoping that Jack and Caroline get just a little bit closer to resolving some serious issues before the saga is over.

DragonFlyRating5

 

Leave a Reply

