To Live Again (The Distance Between Us #6) (Wilde’s #8) L.A. Witt

ToLiveAgainThe heart doesn’t take requests. It calls the tune.
Greg Douglas’s wife surprised him with an early 25th anniversary gift: a divorce. Staying with friends Ethan and Rhett seems like a good idea, just until he gets back on his feet. The guys have an even better idea to take his mind off his troubles—take him out to explore the other half of his bisexuality.
After a quarter century suppressing his hidden desires, he’s not waiting any longer. Especially not after laying eyes on the gorgeous deejay at Wilde’s.
Deejay and single dad Sailo Isaia isn’t looking for anything serious. He’s definitely not out to be a sexual teacher, never mind to a man almost two decades his senior. But as Greg gets the hang of having a male lover, Sailo can’t help himself. They both keep coming back for more. And more. And more.
But a few nagging questions hold Sailo back from giving his whole heart. Is this just Greg’s midlife crisis and rebound fling? Or a chance to fill that empty space—forever—for both Sailo and his beloved son?

Product Warnings
Contains an older guy who’s waited half his life for this, a younger guy who didn’t realize how lonely he was, and some very hot visits to the upstairs VIP lounge at Wilde’s. Author is not responsible for readers who can no longer look at a leather booth the same way again.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1This is another series that I’ve managed to bounce back and forth with the reading order. For what it’s worth, after I read each one of the books that fall later in the series, I vow to go back and pick up the ones I haven’t read yet. To Live Again was no exception. Some day I will because there are more than a few characters that I’d really like to get to know better.

I have to admit, I really didn’t like Greg’s wife and I’m sure I’m not the only reader who had that opinion. Although he never would have explored his sexual curiosity if she wouldn’t have asked for a divorce, there were so many different ways that she could have handled it better. She did get his attention, I’ll give her that. The circumstances also made me like Greg even more.

I also really liked Sailo. He was a single dad who shared custody with his son’s moms. Even though he was younger than Greg (not quite as much younger as the description shows) he was the perfect guy for Greg. He was patient, caring and he wasn’t looking for a commitment.

The more time these two spent together, the more obvious it became that there was more to their relationship than a casual fling. Yet Greg still has some soul searching to do and Sailo can’t risk bringing someone into his life that might disappear because of his son. Their romance wasn’t easy. Even so, I wasn’t expecting the ‘breaking point’ but in the end it worked.

Although I would have liked Sailo’s son to be more present than just a mentioned character, I kind of admired Sailo for not making him part of the ‘getting to know you’ phase of their relationship. I love books that include kids as integral characters, but it doesn’t always work and in this instance I don’t think it would have.

As far as supporting characters go, I loved spending more time with Ethan and Rhett. Not sure if there are more books in store for the Wilde’s crew, but even if there aren’t, I’ve got some serious catching up to do. 😉

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

