Allied in Flight (Through the Veil #2) by Christi Snow

AlliedInFlightA rescue gone wrong.
It was supposed to be simple. Four members from the Western States planned to sneak into the Eastern States to free four condemned Others. But when they arrived at the experimental labs where the Others were being held, it was under attack from Rebel forces.
Griff Hughes had one job…
He had to find Shar, a wounded hawk shifter. But in the ensuing chaos, he became a captive instead of a rescuer. Three days later he awakens in his own cage, alone. But during the nights, he’s not alone. An alluring redhead with a siren’s call visits his dreams, and his resistance is breaking down.
Shar McIntire is just trying to survive.
After three years in captivity, Shar has one goal…keep her and her sister alive. To do so means cooperating with the evil doctors who want her to seduce and manipulate Griff. She likes and is drawn to the man with the strange chocolate wings, but she can’t let that attraction distract her. Her sister’s fate is in her hands.
In the last eighteen years, life hasn’t been easy for anyone.
The WS and the ES have been separate entities, but once the Veil was crossed, things began to evolve. It’s a new world, but that doesn’t mean it’s going to get any easier anytime soon.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1In hind sight, I probably should have re-read the first book in this series, Through the Veil, before I started Allied in Flight. Especially since it had been over a year since I read it. I still might go back and read the first book, but Christi Snow did a really good job of giving just enough hints, without totally retelling the previous story, that I caught up to speed in no time. 😉

From the very first chapter, there wasn’t a lot of down time in Allied in Flight. Griff was a loner. He had no idea signing onto this rescue mission would change his perspective on so many levels. Regardless, love wasn’t something he was looking for and definitely not something he wanted.  Shar had known nothing but captivity for the past 3 years, so trust didn’t come easy. Until she knew her sister was safe, nothing else mattered. Fate had very different plans for both Shar and Griff.

Obviously I loved Griff and Shar’s story, but I also loved the twists and turns that made up the story, which included quite a few supporting characters. Some were new and some were introduced previously. Some were pure evil and some I still haven’t figured out yet. But that’s okay, because it means that there is much more to come. I love this unique world that the author has created and can’t wait to see what happens next.

I have to say that things wrapped up a little too quickly at the end, but that’s probably just me wanting more. It’s a common occurrence in stories I love and it happens frequently when I read this author’s stories. I also have to admit that as much as I loved Griff and Shar’s story, I was more than a little excited to learn that a couple of my favorite characters will be getting their own story. Sorry, I can’t tell you which ones, but you’ll know by the end of Allied in Flight who I’m talking about 😉 I kinda had a soft spot for them from the moment they were introduced.

So… if you like unique fantasy world building with some heated romance and interesting characters, crazy twists, a world view that makes you think, and more than a few mysteries, Through the Veil should definitely be added to your TBR list 😉

DragonFlyRating4

2 comments on “Allied in Flight (Through the Veil #2) by Christi Snow

Leave a Reply

