Cast in Hellfire (Mage Craft #2) by S.M. Reine

CastInHellfireMarion Garin is the teenage daughter of Metaraon, the former Voice of God. Now she’s also the steward of the Winter Court, which has been in anarchy since a revolution five years earlier. 
Problem: Marion still doesn’t remember anything that happened before two weeks ago. 
Seth Wilder has a lead on her memories. Whoever stole them and sold Marion’s essence to a demon lord in Sheol. Marion wants to help steal them back, even though that means abandoning the Winter Court to war. And Seth can’t seem to tell Marion no. 
He wants Marion nearby. Very nearby. Possibly in his teeth. See, Seth has this little problem where he’s developing a killing urge, and it seems to be centered primarily on the half-angel girl who adores him. It conflicts with everything Seth believes himself to be: a moral man, a doctor who heals instead of hurts. Yet he’s obsessed with Marion. She wants her memories, and he wants her to have them as much as he wants her blood. 
They’ll work together to make Marion whole, come hell or high water. Even if it means war. Even if it means Seth might hurt Marion. And damned be the consequences…

Well… I didn’t see that coming. And no, I can’t tell you what I didn’t see coming for more than one reason. First, it would spoil it for you and second… there was more than one thing that I didn’t see coming. And that dear readers is the beauty of most books that S.M. Reine writes. 😉 (See how she turns me into a rambling mess?)

So technically, you could start this series as a stand alone. I still wouldn’t recommend it. Even though I’ve read almost all of S.M. Reine’s books up to this point, the more I read, the more I want to go back and see what I’ve missed. Plus, a lot of characters from the past are introduced. It’s not really necessary to know who they were in the past, but the connections are interesting and sometimes helpful, at least I think that they are. I guess the real point I’m trying to make is that if you haven’t yet introduced yourself to this world of S.M. Reine’s, please do. You can thank me later.

My personal emotions were all over the place in Cast in Hellfire. The main reason for that was that I wasn’t sure who I was going to be angry with next. There are a lot of people who have personal agendas, and not all of them were totally revealed. It was easy to tell who the really bad guys were. But since not everything is exactly as it seems, at least at first glance, it was easy to hate a character one minute and sympathize with them the next. And more than one person has at least one secret, and sometimes more. So yeah, those lines between good and evil got pretty blurry. Plus, Marion had some pretty strong negative reactions to people that I didn’t expect. To make matters even more complicated, the closer that she got to getting her memories back, the more I didn’t really want her to because I wasn’t sure I was going to like the person she discovered.

I can’t really say I’m surprised that Cast in Hellfire ended in a cliff hanger. It honestly wouldn’t have made sense for things to end any other way. On a side note, there are people that I really want to see in Cast in Faefire. Some of them have some serious explaining to do. Oh, and personally, Seth has been one of my favorite characters since he was introduced way back in Seasons of the Moon. He’s gotten kind of a raw deal for a while now and it would really make me happy if things turned around for him. Not that I’m begging or anything….

DragonFlyRating5

Leave a Reply

