Night’s Honor (Elder Races #7) by Thea Harrison

NightsHOnorOn the run from her former employer, Tess knows that she’s vulnerable on her own amongst the Elder Races. That’s why she decides to audition to become the human attendant of a powerful Vampyre of the Nightkind demesne. But while her position affords her the safety she seeks, her protector turns out to be more than she bargained for.
The right-hand man of the Nightkind King, Xavier del Torro is both terrifying and alluring. While his true nature frightens Tess, she can’t ignore the appeal of his innate sense of integrity and self-restraint. Thrown into Xavier’s world, Tess must quickly learn to navigate the dangers—both to her life and to her heart. But the biggest threat comes from her own past….

I’m a huge fan of the Elder Races, but this is the first book that I’ve read that didn’t include the Wyrs and to be honest, at first I wasn’t sure exactly how I felt about it. The more I got into the politics and dynamics of the Vampyre community though, I stopped worrying. It’s not that I didn’t miss the Wyrs and the characters that drew me into this series. It was more because I found a whole other group of characters that I wanted to get to know better.

Speaking of getting to know someone better, Xavier wasn’t an easy guy to get close to… not that Tess had any intention of trying. She was there keep herself hidden and hopefully protected. Plus, she was totally repulsed by vampyres in general. Not exactly a normal start for a romance, but it was also kind of an interesting twist in the genre, for me anyway.

Even though Xavier was more than a little private and at times withdrawn, it was obvious that there was more to him than what he showed people on the surface. Tess slowly began to notice that he may not be as bad as she once thought, but she still wasn’t willing to give everything she asked for.

There were a lot of characters introduced in Night’s Honor. I loved the dynamic between Xavier and his attendants. Tess tried his patience, but he still respected her. How he treated those who served him and stood beside him was part of the reason why he gained my respect, and eventually Tess’s as well.

I’m kind of hoping that we see more of Xavier and Tess in the books that follow in the Elder Races. That’s entirely possible, since the next book in the series features a couple of my least favorite vampyres from Night’s Honor. I’ve already started reading Midnight’s Kiss and I’m kinda warming up to Julian, but Thea Harrison has her work cut out for her to get me to get me to really care about him. (I have no doubt she’s up to the task 😉 )

DragonFlyGreen4-5

 

Leave a Reply

