Bitter Bite (Elemental Assassin #14) by Jennifer Estep

BitterBiteWhich is stronger: blood ties or a battle-tested friendship?
It’s not easy being queen bee of an underworld abuzz with crooks and killers. Wielding my potent Ice and Stone elemental magic will only get me so far—my real secret is my tight-knit makeshift family, a motley crew of cops and criminals, dwarves and playboys. My foster brother Finnegan Lane is my right-hand man, but when his suddenly not-dead relative comes back into the picture, I’m the one on the outside looking in. 
It’s funny how life works: one minute your best friend is rock-steady, and the next he’s doe-eyed and buying into this whole loving-relative routine to the point of ignoring you. I’d like to be happy for Finn, I really would. But all of my instincts are telling me that beneath the syrupy sweet demeanor and old-fashioned charm, this sudden interloper is planning something. The whole shtick leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. This person might have avoided the grave once, but I’ll put anyone who hurts Finn in the ground—for good.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1This was a hard one… The thing that I love most about the Elemental Assassin series is the family aspect. As makeshift as they appear to be, Gin’s family is stronger than most conventional families. Any time that their relationships are threatened in any way, it makes me nervous. Bitter Bite made me very, very nervous.

Readers found out at the end of Spider’s Trap that Finn’s mother was still alive. Bitter Bite opened pretty much right after Gin had made that discovery. Gin’s protective instincts flare initially because of warnings that Fletcher left her to find. Those feelings intensified the more she got to know and distrust the woman. I spent a lot of time being mad at Finn in this book, which really wasn’t fair, but it was hard to watch him  push aside Gin’s feelings but the rest of his family as well. As much as he loved his family, he wanted to have his mother’s love so bad he was blinded. I wanted to shake him, but I wanted to hug him too because… well, because he was Finn and sooner or later he was going to be crushed. *sigh*

I think I loved Gin just a little more for her undying devotion to Finn even though he was being selfishly blind. She would be there to pick up the pieces. The rest of Finn’s family felt the same way, which gave me hope that things would turn out okay for all of them. No, Bitter Bite wasn’t an easy book to read. The emotional roller coaster was pretty much nonstop and my heart broke for Finn more than once. He had a lot of support though and in the end, that makeshift family that I’ve grown to love so much came through just a little bit stronger. ❤

DragonFlyRating5

Leave a Reply

