Break My Fall (Falling #2) by Jessica Scott

BreakMyFallViolence. 
I’m addicted to it. It’s how I feel alive. It’s the only thing that’s real any more.
And now I have to sit around and discuss it like it’s physics or calculus. 
I can’t do it. I can’t pretend that it’s some sterile academic topic. 
Violence isn’t sterile. It isn’t calm. It’s pulsing. It’s alive.
It’s my drug.
Until I met Abby, I never wanted anything beyond the next fight. Never considered that I might finally find a way back to the land of the living.
Now? Now I find myself dreaming of a woman with golden eyes.
But I can never be with her. Because I am not whole. And I never will be again.
But I cannot stay away. And loving her might finally be what breaks me.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve been a fan of Jessica Scott’s military love stories for a while. Even though Falling was her first venture into the New Adult genre, I didn’t hesitate picking up the first book, Before I Fall. Once you fall in love with a series after reading the first book, there’s always a danger that the books that follow won’t quite live up to that high you get with starting something new. I didn’t have that fear when I picked up Break My Fall. I was rewarded with a book that was just as intense and emotional as the first, with characters that I fell in love with from the time they were introduced.

You need to know going into this series that it’s not a sweet romance. These characters are broken and fragile, but they’re also stronger than they give themselves credit for. There’s also a realness about them that pulls you in and makes you feel for them. I think that’s one of the things I love most about Jessica Scott’s writing. Her military background adds to the ‘realness’ that gives her characters a depth and dimension that they wouldn’t have without that knowledge.

As for Abby and Josh? Abby was suffering from her own demons and falling for Josh was a risk, but one that she couldn’t turn away from. Josh was more broken than anyone knew, but he couldn’t pull himself away from Abby even though he knew it could totally break him as well as her. It took them a while to figure out that they were much better off together than apart.

Break My Fall was intense and at times heartbreaking, but it was also full of hope and even humor. The characters were smart and witty and full of life. That includes the supporting characters, who were, once again, just as important as Abby and Josh. They added another layer to the story through their interactions between Abby and Josh.

I don’t think that you have to read Before I Fall to enjoy Break My Fall, but I wouldn’t skip it. The first book lays the groundwork. It’s gives some insight into the different things these young soldiers face when they come home and the steps they have to take to try to get back even a little of what they’ve lost and find a new kind of normal. Not everyone’s journey is the same, but they’re all important. I’m going to try to remember that before the next book in the series comes out. If I Fall features one of my least favorite characters so far, which means Ms. Scott has her work cut out for her. I have no doubt that she’s up to the task.

DragonFlyRating5

Leave a Reply

