Rock N Soul (Soul Seekers #1) by Lauren Sattersby

RockNSoul_600x900I’m Tyler Lindsey, and until recently, I had an okay apartment, an okay girlfriend, and an okay job as a bellboy at a respectable Boston hotel. Then rock star Chris Raiden died right before I brought his room service—stiffing me on the tip, by the way—and my life went to hell. My fifteen minutes of fame was more like five seconds, and my girlfriend left me in disgust.
But even worse—Chris is haunting me. Not the room where he died, like a normal ghost. No, somehow he’s stuck to me and is insisting on taking care of a bunch of unfinished business in California. So now I have to traipse across the country with the world’s most narcissistic ghost.
But . . . I keep having these weird thoughts. Thoughts about how much I like the way he makes me laugh. Thoughts where I kind of want to kiss the emo-narcissist, even though he’s a ghost and an asshole and I can’t touch him anyway. And even if I could, what will happen when he finishes his business and nothing’s keeping him here anymore?

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Alright, honestly? I spent the first half of this book (maybe not quite half…) wondering exactly where the romance was coming from. Tyler was a guy who settled for being verbally abused by his girl friend and settling for a job that was going nowhere because it was easy. Chris was a spoiled, entitled rock star who OD’d in his hotel room. The guys couldn’t stand each other from the moment they met. This was an impossible story from the very beginning… but then the walls started coming down. The masks that these two hid behind were off and once that happened I was a goner.

Typical of a ghost who didn’t seem to be able to move on, Chris had some unfinished business he needed to take care of. There were three people he needed to see for some very different reasons. That journey brought the two of them closer together and they both grew a lot in a very short time. Which was heartbreaking. I’m not gonna lie, I was reduced to tears more than once. Not just the tears that quietly leak down your cheek. No, these were the ones that blur your vision so bad that you have to put the book down and compose yourself before you can go on and once you do, it starts all over again. This was the kind of book that you didn’t want to finish because you knew how it was going to end and you didn’t want it to be over for these guys. I was so emotionally invested in them that it practically broke me…

To keep it simple, let’s just say that Lauren Sattersbury hit a home run with her debut. She is most definitely on my reading radar. She turned what was a heartbreaking scenario into a beautiful love story and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next. Needless to say, I was super excited to see that Rock N Soul is part of a series.

DragonFlyRating5

4 comments on “Rock N Soul (Soul Seekers #1) by Lauren Sattersby

  1. hey old friend! guess who? shhhhh….keep it hush hush lol. 😉

    love your review and as i mentioned, my curiosity got piqued! i saw this book in one of the blogs i follow and am familiar with the blurb. thanks for sharing your thoughts. i have another one to add to my neverending TBR!

Leave a Reply

