Magic Slays (Kate Daniels #5) by Ilona Andrews

MagicSlaysPlagued by a war between magic and technology, Atlanta has never been so deadly. Good thing Kate Daniels is on the job.
Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but she’s still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be now that the Order is disparaging her good name, and many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate’s mate.
So when Atlanta’s premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. Turns out this is not an isolated incident, and Kate needs to get to the bottom of it fast, or the city and everyone dear to her might pay the ultimate price.
 

I have a couple of authors who are my favorites when it comes to Urban Fantasy. Ilona Andrews is pretty close to the top of that list. I can’t pinpoint it to anything specific. The world building, the mythology behind the different ‘species’, the hierarchy and politics, along with the witty, well developed characters combine to make this series one of my favorites. I may be taking my time reading it, but consider it savoring, not ignoring 😉

A lot happened in Magic Slays. Some things about Kate’s heritage were revealed. Old friends were reunited. Some very strange alliances were made and some new enemies came into play. Needless to say, there was very little down time. Along with the danger, there was a lot of emotion. Kate had to make some very tough decisions and she also found herself dealing with just a little bit of self doubt. Just another one of those things that makes me love this series. Those moments make the characters ‘real’. Speaking of characters, I love the witty banter between them. That’s not just limited to Kate and Curran, because there’s lots of back and forth between the two of them… not to mention the sexiness… Even though a lot of serious, dangerous craziness happens in Magic Slays, the true family aspect between the characters is there and it’s laced with a lot of humor and more of that ‘realness’ that I love about them.

The events that take place in Magic Slays change things for a lot of characters. I can’t wait to see what happens next and I’m still not sure if I’m going to try to slip in the some of the novellas (Magic Tests, Magic Gifts – Curran POV shorts) and Andrea’s story (Gunmetal Magic) before I pick up Magic Rises.

DragonFlyRating5

2 comments on “Magic Slays (Kate Daniels #5) by Ilona Andrews

  1. I am behind on this series as well, waiting for the paperbacks to be published. But it is a good series, and I love it! Glad you are slowly discovering this marvelous world as well.

    • I really need to pick up the pace because it too much of a gap between books for me to remember exactly what happened in the last book. I need to make sure that doesn’t happen again.

Leave a Reply

