The Candy Man (Candy Man #1) by Amy Lane – Bout-of-Books 15 Review

CandyManAdam Macias has been thrown a few curve balls in his life, but losing his VA grant because his car broke down and he missed a class was the one that struck him out. One relative away from homelessness, he’s taking the bus to Sacramento, where his cousin has offered a house-sitting job and a new start. He has one goal, and that’s to get his life back on track. Friends, pets, lovers? Need not apply.
Finn Stewart takes one look at Adam as he’s applying to Candy Heaven and decides he’s much too fascinating to leave alone. Finn is bright and shiny—and has never been hurt. Adam is wary of his attention from the very beginning—Finn is dangerous to every sort of peace Adam is forging, and Adam may just be too damaged to let him in at all.
But Finn is tenacious, and Adam’s new boss, Darrin, doesn’t take bullshit for an answer. Adam is going to have to ask himself which is harder—letting Finn in or living without him? With the holidays approaching it seems like an easy question, but Adam knows from experience that life is seldom simple, and the world seldom cooperates with hope, faith, or the plans of cats and men.

I’m not even sure where to start. The story began with Darrin working his magic candy mojo, which I loved BTW… This may not have been a PNR, but the hint of magic that started the story was definitely enough to catch my interest. Of course, once Adam was introduced, magic or no, I was hooked. I loved both Adam and Finn from the start.

Adam was… well… he was broken. My ‘Mama Bear’ gene worked over time when it came to him. There’s no excuse for what he went through. None. I felt exactly like Finn did when he discovered Adam’s troubled past… which BTW made me love Finn even more.

Can I just say, thank God for Finn’s determination. If not for his tenacity, he wouldn’t have stood a chance. That was just one of the many things that I adored about Finn.

Then there were the supporting characters…and there were many, not the least of which included Gonzo the cat and Clopper the dog. All of them played an important role and there wasn’t one that was introduced that I didn’t fall in love with. Of course there were the employees at the candy shop, but there was also Rico. The only interaction that Adam had with his cousin Rico was through text messages, but it was enough to be totally invested in his story, which is next. There was also Finn’s family, who totally made up for Adam’s poor excuse for a family… almost.

And did I mention the tears? Yeah, there were more than a few. There was one scene in particular that I pretty much dare anyone not to get just a little choked up while reading, but I found myself wiping my eyes more than once. *sigh* Bitter Taffy is next and it thankfully features Rico. I can’t wait to get to know Adam’s only sane family member 😉

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

