Stuck Landing (Bluewater Bay #11) by Lauren Gallagher

StuckLanding_600x900For months, acclaimed Wolf’s Landing director/producer Anna Maxwell has been nursing a crush on Natalya Izmaylova, a former Russian gymnast and current Wolf’s Landing stunt coordinator. When Anna witnesses Natalya’s very public breakup with her boyfriend, she can’t resist inviting her over for drinks to commiserate about love and all that nonsense. Commiseration doesn’t last long, and soon Anna’s in bed with the hottest woman she’s ever touched, living out fantasies she didn’t even know she had.
Despite the amazing sex, Anna wants to proceed with caution. They’re both newly single. They’re colleagues. And there’s the not-so-small matter of Anna’s biphobia.
Natalya won’t commit to someone who clings to ridiculous stereotypes, but they can’t avoid each other at work, and there’s no ignoring their chemistry. Anna’s defenses are slowly eroding, and Natalya is willing to give her another chance. But Natalya only has so much patience, and even scorching hot sex won’t keep her coming back forever. If Anna doesn’t come to her senses soon and let go of her prejudices — not to mention her insecurities — she’s going to lose the woman of her dreams.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I love this series, I really do. There are some books in the series that I’ve liked more than others, but in general, I’ve enjoyed them all as well as the characters. Stuck Landing is the first one that I’ve had a problem with… and probably not for the reasons that you might think.

Anna has been a part of this series since the beginning. She was an important character in Levi and Carter’s story, Starstruck, which started the Bluewater Bay series. I’ve liked her character ever since and her relationship that continued with both Levi and Carter. She also played an important role in Jeremy and Scott’s story, Rain Shadow. Her crumbling relationship with her girlfriend was the perfect set-up for Stuck Landing.

Natalya’s break up with her boyfriend sets the stage for her and Anna to connect. I liked them together in the beginning… they just seemed to click. So what was my hang up with this story? It was simply Anna and her hang-ups. True, this was basically my first F/F read and this genre will never be my ‘go-to’ when it comes to romance. But for me, the beauty of this series is the diversity of the characters and the authors. Anna’s prejudice just rubbed me the wrong way because it went against everything I felt the series was trying to accomplish. To be honest, I’m not sure why Natalya gave her another chance. *sigh*

You might be asking why I gave Stuck Landing a higher rating than my opinion warranted… well, that’s simple. Just because I wasn’t a fan of Anna, didn’t mean that it still wasn’t a good story. Carter and Levi pretty much saved it for me on more than one occasion, as well as Jeremy and Scott. One of my favorite parts (besides the wedding) was when Levi pretty much put Anna in her place. (That’s not giving anything away BTW because Levi, Carter and Jeremy weren’t easy on Anna and her attitude through much of the book.)

So, yeah… Stuck Landing wasn’t a shining moment for Anna… I still liked the story though, but not necessarily for the romance. Not a bad thing… just not what I expected.

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

