Once Darkness Falls (Preternatural Affairs #7) by S.M. Reine

OnceDarknessFallsThe worst case scenario has happened: Reno NV has fallen to demons.
Someone at the Office of Preternatural Affairs fucked up.
As the lead of a secret internal investigations team, Agent Cesar Hawke needs to discover who is responsible.
And then he needs to kill them.

There isn’t a book in this world created by S.M. Reine – regardless of which series I’m reading – that I haven’t absolutely loved. I’ve also, unsurprisingly, fallen in love with a lot of the characters that inhabit said world. If I’m honest though, I have to admit that I’ve fallen out of love with them just as often, but that’s another topic entirely. The point I’m trying to make, in my usual round-about rambling way, is that I love them all for very different reason. I have to say though that Cesar falls right behind Rylie in my rank of favorites. Once Darkness Falls hasn’t changed my opinion one bit. If anything, I fell more in love with him in this latest addition to the Preternatural Affairs series.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1The cards were pretty much stacked against Cesar from the beginning, but he had a couple of pretty firm objectives. Keep the people he cared about safe and come out of it alive. As usual, nothing is easy and more importantly, nothing is quite what it seems. The lines between good and evil can blur in a heartbeat. It makes it really hard to tell the good guys from the bad from a reader’s standpoint. It’s almost impossible for the characters. But that’s what makes these books so much fun to read.

One of the things that I love about these intertwining series is the chance to look at familiar characters from a different character’s POV. Seeing Rylie through Deirdre’s eyes was interesting in War of the Alphas, and not always in a good way. But seeing Elise from Cesar’s POV was… well, I’m not exactly sure. Elise crossed a lot of lines in her life… she came closer to obliterating them than blurring them… but Cesar’s opinion of her still made me want to jump in and defend her. Which wasn’t really fair because he didn’t have the whole story. Speaking of which, I still have more books to read in the Descent series…

As for the rest of Once Darkness Falls? This book is a huge turning point for Cesar. Fritz made some startling revelations, more than a few characters made some cameos from previous series, Cesar makes new enemies and some shaky allies, and more than a couple lives hang in the balance. Just a normal day at the office, right?

DragonFlyRating5

 

2 comments on “Once Darkness Falls (Preternatural Affairs #7) by S.M. Reine

Leave a Reply

