The One You Want (The Original Heartbreakers #0.5) by Gena Showalter

TheOneYouWantIn small-town Oklahoma, reputation is everything, and Kenna Starr will do anything to overcome hers. The supposed bad girl is determined to walk the straight and narrow, a seemingly impossible task when Tall, Dark and Sexy shows up…
Rich and powerful, Dane Michaelson is every woman’s dream. When he returns to Strawberry Valley after a sixteen-year absence, he is unprepared for the redheaded girl he’s never been able to forget. She’s all woman now—and he’s never wanted anyone more. But to have her, he’ll have to break through her defenses… and surrender his own.

I love novellas, I really, really do. Especially this time of year when I have more time to read and knock a whole bunch of short reads off my TBR list in hopes of meeting my lofty reading goal… but I digress… The point is, even though I love novellas, they can either be hit or miss for me and it boils down to one simple reason. Not enough story…

This was such a sweet romance, with a great couple that I can’t fault it too much, but I’d be lying if I didn’t say I wanted more. I know, you’ve heard that from me before, even from reviews of full length novels, but I wanted more from The One You Want because there was a lot left hanging and I wanted those nagging questions answered. I also felt like Kenna and Dane deserved more for their story.

Other than that, The One You Want was an amazing intro to Gena Showalter’s The Original Heartbreakers. Characters were introduced that will continue the series and definitely piqued my curiosity. I loved the back story between Dan and Kenna, as well as their individual back stories during their time apart. Norrie was adorable and was written exactly like I love to read kids in fiction… smart, witty and in her case, a overflowing fountain of sometimes inappropriate, but well timed information.

I can’t wait to see what Showalter has in store for the rest of the Heartbreakers

DragonFlyRating4

One comment on “The One You Want (The Original Heartbreakers #0.5) by Gena Showalter

Leave a Reply

