Falling From the Sky by Nikki Godwin

FallingFromTheSkyAll stability in sixteen-year-old Ridge McCoy’s life crashed and burned in the plane crash that killed his dad. This summer-long basketball camp is his chance to improve his skills and escape his problems back home. But his summer plans take a turn in an unexpected direction when he meets Micah Youngblood, the guy who runs the carousel at the local mall and has a reputation for devouring straight boys’ heterosexuality for breakfast, alongside his chocolate chip pancakes.
Ridge needs a way to avoid the guys at camp, whose only quest for the summer is to drown in beer and hook up with girls. So when Micah offers to explain how the ten unique horses on the carousel are significant to his tribe, Ridge takes him up on it. Still, Ridge can’t decide if this is a bad thing or not. All he knows is that he hasn’t felt this alive since his dad fell from the sky, and as the horse adventures come to an end, Ridge finds himself falling as well – for Micah.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Okay, I need to make a confession. I’ve had this book for almost a year… and to be honest, I forgot I had it. As procrastination excuses go, that’s about as lame as it gets, but it’s the only excuse I have. Normally, I wouldn’t mention the fact that a book sat around in my possession for that length of time because if I’m being totally honest, I have books (both virtual and physical) that I’ve had even longer. Every once in a while though a book comes along that I could kick myself for not picking up sooner. Falling From the Sky is most DEFINITELY one of those books.

There was so much to love about this book, I’m not sure where to start, so forgive me if I ramble. I loved Ridge from the start. The book’s told entirely from his POV, so that’s a good thing. He was grieving for his dad and had absolutely no real support. There were people in his life going through the motions, but he was basically dealing with the aftermath on his own, the best that he could. And then there was Micah. Sweet, lovable, creative, outgoing Micah. There was so much more to him than what was on the surface and I loved getting to know him as much as Ridge did.

Beyond the main characters, the supporting characters were so much more than filler. Micah’s friends were awesome and I fell in love with his family. Zoey was the perfect ‘big sister’ and Jade and Abby were adorable and well written kids. For the record, that doesn’t always happen. I hate it when kids are just there to fill space. Jade and Abby were smart and full of unique personality. One of my favorite supporting characters was though was Terrence. As friends go, he was the perfect fit for Ridge. I loved his honesty and his compassion and his non judgemental openness. That doesn’t mean that he didn’t pull any punches with Ridge when he thought he was wrong. Besides Micah, he was the most supportive person in Ridge’s life, which was both sad and wonderful at the same time.

Basically, Falling From the Sky was a sweet love story between two young men who were finding their way. I loved the message and one of my favorite quotes is from Micah… because as ‘not normal’ as Ridge thinks this statement is, it really is the way it should be.

“The thing is, I hate labels. All labels. Race, gender, sexuality, all of it. I don’t see color or gender or gay, straight or bi, whatever.” ….
“Like, when I meet someone, I try to wait until I know them before I place any judgement. And when I fall in love, I fall in love with who someone is, not the fact that it’s a guy or girl or whatever, you know?” he asks, like this is normal.

DragonFlyGreen4-5

One comment on “Falling From the Sky by Nikki Godwin

  1. Pingback: #30DaysOfThanks2015 Week 4 Bonus Blogger: Shirley from Creative Deeds |

Leave a Reply

