Hunks, Hammers, and Happily Ever Afters – Anthology

HunksHammersAn anthology of novellas about hunky blue collar, hammer wielding heroes and the women who tame them. Stories are by USA Today Bestselling Authors Cari Quinn, Cathy Clamp, and Anna J Stewart, and featuring authors Jodi Redford, Amie Stuart, Leah Braemel, and Chudney Thomas.
Get down and dirty with this sexy blue collar bundle featuring seven original contemporary romance novellas that range from sweet to sizzling.

This must be the year of anthologies. I think I’ve read more this year… at least at the end of this year, than I’ve read in quite some time. Hunks, Hammers and Happily Ever Afters!! is another one that’s pretty much full of ‘new to me’ authors. But see, the thing about anthologies is that they give you a taste of authors and genres that you may not have noticed or thought about before. Not that I need any more books or authors added to my TBR list, but I can’t just skip a story in an anthology just because I’m not familiar with the author. What if I miss out on my next great read? What if I’m not introduced to a character that may turn into my next BBF or BFF? Plus, I’m nothing if not a conscientious reader. Once I start reading I just can’t stop. So… you’ll find my mini-reviews for all the books in Hunks, Hammers and Happily Ever Afters!! below, along with the short descriptions found at Goodreads for each.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1KNOCKOUT – Cari Quinn
All Emerson Knapp wants…is everything he shouldn’t have. When all his secrets come to a head, the only question left is how much he’s willing to lose.
Review: Knockout is part of Cari Quinn’s Tapped Out series. I’m pretty sure that I wasn’t missing anything by not having read any of the previous books, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t want to read more now that I’ve had a taste… and what a taste Knockout was… Lily, Jase and Emerson definitely kept things interesting.

HOT SUMMER NIGHTS – Cathy Clamp
Sophie Green is smart, gorgeous, and good with her hands. Can Gabe convince her to make her stay at the Starlight Motel a permanent one?
Review:
I was really excited about this one. I loved the characters and the writing was spot on… and then… ugh! My opinion changed as soon as they didn’t even give a condom a second thought from their very first encounter. It can be forgiven if there is remorse or an OMG! moment afterward, but that didn’t happen. Sorry, but regardless of how the rest of the story goes, that pretty much turned me off from the start. It’s a shame too, because the premise, chemistry between the characters and the set-up was great. *sigh*

MARKED FOR LOVE – Anna J. Stewart
Overworked pub manager Regan Murphy is about to have her hands full with Lantano Valley newcomer and tattoo artist Brodie Crawford: a sexy single father who is far too distracting.
*this version of MARKED FOR LOVE is a spiced up version of the original sweet novella of the same title. Includes a never before published epilogue, available ONLY in this boxed set.
Review:
There’s something to be said for a sweet romance, centered around broken characters who live for their families. That’s exactly what Marked for Love was and I loved it. Just a little smexiness, a lot of denial, a misunderstood teenager and a couple of adorable, well written kids…. perfect!

KNOTTY MAGIC – Jodi Redford
Hormones be damned, Tully Eastwood won’t succumb to her attraction for a sexy lumberjack—until she finds herself trapped overnight with him in the woods.
Review:
Jodi is the only author in this anthology that I’ve read. Knotty Magic was full of the snarkiness, humor, wit and smexiness that I’ve come to expect from her. A spunky girl who’s passionate about things that are important to her. A grizzly man who’s afraid to commit because he’s been burned and doesn’t want to put his heart through that kind of pain again. Add to that a forest full of magic that is determined to bring these two crazy kids together and the combination is golden.

AGAINST THE WALL – Amie Stuart
Construction Supervisor Lexi Kimball is the one person everyone loves to hate. Everyone except a sexy foreman with an adventurous streak, that is.
Review:
The down side of reading a novella? Sometimes you don’t get enough time to relate to a character. That’s how I felt after I finished Against the Wall. I liked this one, but I think I would have liked it a lot more if I had more time to get to know Lexi and Wade.

UNASHAMED — Leah Braemel
Two sexy construction workers double Hayley O’Connell’s fun. But can they convince her the fun should last forever?
Review:
Awww… I loved these three. Granted, since it was technically a novella, parts of it were a little rushed, but it was much more than a menage. It was a sweet story about childhood friends to lovers and common love for a girl that brought them all together. It also included a jerk of a father and a loving, accepting family that totally made up for it. Too bad it came to a satisfying end, because I could definitely go for some more time with Hayley, Mac and Noah. 😉

LOVE IN AN ELEVATOR – Chudney Thomas
Mica Lawson is a failure and a flake; at least according to her family. Then one stalled elevator, and a sexy repairman, change her life.
Review:
There were things about this story that I really liked and other things that drove me nuts. I really liked Cam, Mica was hard to figure out. Things that set her off weren’t really a big deal and kinda made me shake my head. Also, editing issues usually don’t bother me, but there were so many in this one I can’t help but mention them. Lots of potential here, just didn’t quite hit the mark for me. *sigh*

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

