Winter Court (Tarot Witches #3) by SM Reine

WinterCourtCEO Pierce Hardwick is testing a cure for lycanthropy. Jaycee Frost, witch and executive assistant, wants to help. But she can’t risk getting too close to her irresistible boss. Ever since that one hot night they shared in the break room—the night before Jaycee realized Pierce would be her new employer—Jaycee has been struggling with her entirely unprofessional attraction toward him.
Then Jaycee receives a magical tarot card, and the message is clear: destiny has plans for her. No matter that Jaycee only wants to achieve professional domination with Hardwick Medical Research. She’s got a bigger job.
And that job might have to do with mating to Pierce Hardwick
.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1The Tarot Witches series takes things to a whole new level in S.M. Reine’s world of many layers. Most of Reine’s other books fall neatly into the Urban Fantasy genre. This series leans heavier into PNR/Erotica, and for the record, I’m not complaining. Just thought I’d let readers know that smexiness is a HUGE part of this series and just with every other aspect of this author’s writing… nothing is held back. Nothing!

As much as I love this series and really liked this book, I gotta be honest. I really didn’t like Jaycee… in the beginning. She eventually grew on me and I understood her reluctance, but it took a while. I know that the way her character was presented was intentional, but I would have been happier with this book if Jaycee had won me over just a little bit faster. Since I fell in love with Pierce from the beginning and he obviously loved Jaycee regardless of how she acted, I had to give her the benefit of the doubt.

A few of the mysteries behind the Tarot Witches are revealed in Winter Court, but not all. In fact there are a few new ones thrown into the mix. There’s some foreshadowing (or history, depending on which books you’ve read) that continue to tie everything together. That doesn’t even include all the new powers that the witches have gained. Needless to say, things heat up… which is kind of ironic, given the title.

One thing I’m certain of, this series has reinforced the fact that a serious re-read is definitely in order. As soon as I catch up, I’ll be starting over. Given everything that happens in each book, I’m sure I’ve missed something along the way. 😉

DragonFlyGreen4-5

 

 

One comment on “Winter Court (Tarot Witches #3) by SM Reine

Leave a Reply

