Midnight Rising (Midnight Breed #4) by Lara Adrian

MidnightRisingIn a world of shadows and dark, consuming hungers, desire is the deadliest weapon…
For journalist Dylan Alexander, it began with the discovery of a hidden tomb, thrusting her into the center of a gathering storm of violence and secrets. But nothing is as dangerous as the scarred, lethally seductive man who rises from the shadows to draw her into his world of dark desire and endless night.
Fueled by pain and rage over a shattering betrayal, the warrior Rio has pledged his life to the war against the Rogues. He will let nothing stand in his way—least of all a mortal woman with the power to expose the entire vampire race. For an ancient evil has been awakened, and a stunning darkness is on the rise. Suddenly Dylan is powerless to resist Rio’s touch, even as she uncovers a shocking link to her own past. And now she must choose: Leave Rio’s midnight realm, or risk it all for the man who has shown her true passion and the infinite pleasures of the heart.

I’ve got shelves full of books that belong to series that I’ve been meaning to continue. Shelves and shelves of books. I’m not even sure how long it’s been since I picked up a book from the Midnight Breed series, but I’m glad that finally stepped back into this world. Rio’s story was the perfect book to reintroduce myself to the series.

I almost forgot how heart breaking Rio’s story was. Eva’s betrayal left him totally broken, both physically and emotionally. Dylan found him just in time.

Since it’s been a while since I read Midnight Awakening, I am embarrassed to admit that I forgot about Rio and what happened to him. It didn’t take me long to remember though. Once my memory was jogged, my heart broke for him all over again. If anyone deserved a HEA, it was most definitely him.

Dylan had her own heartbreaking past. Her mother was battling cancer. Because of that, Dylan was taking her mother’s dream vacation in her place. The last thing she expected was to find Rio.

Dylan’s breedmate gift was unique and I don’t want to give it away so I can’t say much about it. I loved the twist and the closure it provided.

A few more twists and turns kept things interesting and it was good to see Rio come back into the fold and feel useful and like he belonged. Dylan had a lot to do with that, but his the connection he felt toward his fellow breed brethren played just as an important role.

Veil of Midnight is next and I hopefully won’t wait as long between books as I have previously. Since this is Niko’s book, I’m pretty sure I’ll find a way to move it up a few notches on my TBR list 😉

DragonFlyRating4

By creativedeeds

2 comments on “Midnight Rising (Midnight Breed #4) by Lara Adrian

Leave a Reply

