Scarlett’s Path by Amos Cassidy Promo Tour and Review

RELEASE DAY TEASER SCARLETT

thickpaperbackfront_604x964 (5)Scarlett knows no peace. Fear and disappointment are her constant companions and hope is simply a word. A stepfather who watches her every move with desire, a mother who spends her days and nights in an alcoholic stupor, and a cottage too small to escape from it all. The forest is the only place Scarlett can breathe, the only place to run, until the final straw, until the final betrayal. Scarlett makes a choice that will change her life…
She steps off the path…

“The woods can turn your head… It’s easy to lose yourself in amongst the trees and you, my sweet Scarlett, are a delicious treat the woods would love to keep forever.”

My Review:

(This book was previously titled Riding Red….)

I love finding a new genre to fall in love with. My latest to add to the constantly growing list falls under twisted fairy tales. I haven’t read many, but the ones that I have read I’ve really enjoyed. When I found out that the Amos Cassidy duo were putting out a series of novellas based on these timeless tales I couldn’t wait to get their spin on them.

You probably guessed that Scarlett’s Path is a twist on Little Red Riding Hood. The tale spun here is nothing like the one that you remember from your childhood though, and that’s the point. In this adult version there’s no grandmother, but a alcoholic mother, a pure evil step-father, a town full of judgmental people and more than enough reason for Scarlett to want to run away from home.

The forest is full of magic and Scarlett finds more than she bargained for when she runs into Red. Secrets are revealed, things aren’t always what they seem and the ‘Big Bad Wolf’ isn’t necessarily the scariest thing in the forest. There were a couple of twists that I didn’t expect but I totally loved.

The only complaint I have about Scarlett’s Path is that I wanted more. It worked great as a novella, but it would have been even better if it would have been a little bit longer. I know, I’m greedy. *sigh* I guess I can’t complain too much because the authors have already promised more books in the Tales from Beyond the Veil series.

DragonFlyRating4

By creativedeeds

Leave a Reply

