Rough Road (Lake Lovelace #2) by Vanessa North

RoughRoadEddie Russell is many things: A wealthy pillar of the community. An outrageous flirt. A doting best friend. A masochist with a kink for brawling with his bedmates. But he is definitely not a man who invites intimacy. His friends are close but few, his lovers rarer still.
When Eddie runs his Mercedes off the road on a hot July afternoon, Wish Carver comes to his aid—and leaves his number in Eddie’s phone. Wish, a road crew worker half Eddie’s age and sexy as sin, seems fascinated by Eddie’s different sides. Mutual attraction and compatible kinks ignite the sheets, but it’s their connection outside the bedroom that Eddie begins to crave.
When the two come down on opposite sides of a local issue, Eddie finds his growing feelings for Wish at odds with his business interests and his devotion to his best friend, local wakeboarding legend Ben Warren. Torn between old loyalties and his new love, Eddie is reluctant to make a choice. But he knows he can’t make Wish wait too long to make up his mind.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I have to admit, when I was reading Double Up, I wasn’t quite sure how to take Eddie. He was a little ‘out there’ to put it bluntly. He gave off a vibe that pretty much told the world that he didn’t care what they thought, which, once you got to really know him, was kind of endearing. Which means that I also have to admit that he kind of grew on me. His love, devotion and total and unrelenting support of Ben totally won me over. That same devotion almost cost him everything in Rough Road.

I liked Wish from the moment he was introduced and realized way before Eddie did that he would be good for him. Eddie had a whole list of reasons why things could never go further than casual with Wish – namely the age difference – but none of them really held any weight. By the time he became comfortable with the idea of being a couple with anyone, it was over. Or was it?

There was so much to love about Rough Road. I loved Eddie’s loyalty to Ben, even though it almost ruined everything. He was also loyal to his friends, family and community. I loved Wish’s determination to make things work, within reason. I loved Eddie and Wish as a couple. I also loved getting to know a little bit more of Eddie’s history, that explained a lot about who he was and those little tidbits made me fall in love with him just a little bit more.

If you read Double Up, then you know where Eddie’s sexual tastes lie. I’m not a huge fan of BDSM, but if it’s an integral part of the story, I’m okay with it. Since that’s a huge ‘kink’ for Eddie, it definitely plays a part in their relationship, but it’s not an overwhelming part of the story. It’s there, it’s who Eddie and Wish are and that pretty much covers it. I’m only mentioning it because, while it’s an important aspect of Eddie and Wish’s relationship, the connection between these two goes well beyond that.

I’m not sure if there’s more to come in the Lake Lovelace series, but I’ll be ready if there is. I really like these guys and their group of friends and family.

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

