Right by Your Side (Martin Ranch #1)

RightByYourSideBest Female Country Artist. Sold out world-wide tour. Record-setting album sales. It’s been a stellar year for Skye Taylor and it’s left her exhausted. All she wants to do is go home to Oklahoma, curl up in her little house, and veg out in pj’s with a pile of junk food. But when her tour bus crashes in the middle of West Texas, her priorities suddenly shift. Now she’s sitting bedside hoping her best friend and bodyguard, KC, survives.
For Scott Martin, he simply wants this horrible year to end. After the murder of his brother, his family is falling apart. With one crisis after another pulling him back to the family ranch, he’s put way too many late night miles on his truck between his family home and Lubbock, where he works as a paramedic. When he comes upon the wrecked tour bus, he has no idea this is one emergency which will change his life forever.
Skye and Scott quickly form a friendship which hints at possibilities of more. But as these two dodge paparazzi, over-zealous label executives, and stalker fans, they soon discover that everything is easier when you have someone you trust RIGHT BY YOUR SIDE. And that becomes even more important when they discover the bus wreck wasn’t an accident…

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I know I’ve said this before, but it bares repeating. I was hooked on Christi Snow’s writing and characters from the prologue of her very first book, Operation: End Game. One of the main reasons I’m bringing this up is because the Martin Ranch series is an indirect spin-off of the When the Mission Ends series. The Martin brothers were introduced in the second book, Operation: Endeavor. Don’t let that bother you if you haven’t read any of the books in the When the Mission Ends series though. Although they’re connected, you can read one independent of the other.

Another reason to bring the connection up though is the fact that I forgot how much I missed this little world that Christi Snow created. I can see me becoming just as enamored with the Martin boys as I was with the Robertson siblings. Yeah, with little or no effort she has me totally hooked, once again. *sigh*

Okay, enough with the connections… this book was the perfect beginning to another amazing series. I love it when two ‘broken’ characters find each other and make no mistake, Skye and Scott were both broken… to a degree. Skye was torn between what she wanted and what was ‘expected.’ Scott was still recovering from the loss of his brother and the turmoil it has left his family. My heart broke for both of these characters.

Beyond that, this book had pretty much something for everyone. There was romantic tension, the inevitable heated romance, the family dynamic (obviously between Scott and his family, but it included Skye’s makeshift family as well) and the mystery of who was behind the conspiracy to hurt Skye. There were just as many sweet moments as there were witty, intense, smexy, heart breaking and dangerous moments. And as an added bonus, I honestly didn’t figure out who the true ‘bad guy’ was until they were revealed. I may have been a tad bit distracted by the romance and the heartbreak, but I still consider it impressive.

I love how things were resolved by the end, but I still wanted more. I can’t hold that against the author though, because that is a frequent ‘complaint’ that I voice. I can’t wait to see what happens next and I’ve already given the author my opinion on who needs to get an HEA sooner rather than later. Not that she’ll listen to me. Authors rarely do… it was worth a try though. 😉

DragonFlyGreen4-5

 

2 comments on “Right by Your Side (Martin Ranch #1)

Leave a Reply

