Taking a Chance (Restoration #3) by AM Arthur

TakingAChanceThe last time Elliott fell in love, his fiancé cheated on him. Now fresh out of rehab, Elliott’s confidence lags behind his libidoé not that that stops him from lusting after the sexy carpenter working on his kitchen—from a distance. He won’t risk his sobriety on another potential broken heart.
As half of an experienced home renovation duo, Augustus expects this job will be easy. Until he sees the house’s tenant, a man he never thought he’d meet—his ex’s other man. Augustus knows he should say something about their secret, shared past, but he’s tongue-tied by their intense, unwanted attraction.
Despite attempts to keep things professional, the two men give in to temptation and forge a genuine connection—and his developing feelings for Elliott leave Augustus in an impossible situation. If he stays, his secret will always hang over the relationship. But telling the truth might send Elliott spiraling to a new rock bottom and cost Augustus the only man he’s ever really loved.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I may be kind of late jumping on the A.M. Arthur band wagon, but I’m seriously trying to make up for lost time. As per my usual ‘jump in without looking’ approach, the first book I read by this author was Stand by You, which just happened to be the last book in her Belonging series. I knew then that she was an author that I needed to pay close attention to. I wasn’t wrong, because the Restoration series has been one of my favorites and since it has several characters in common with the Belonging series, it pretty much reinforced the fact that I need to start at the beginning of the Belonging series and continue until I’ve re-read them all through the Restoration series. These books and characters are that good.

Elliot has been the most ‘unbalanced’ character throughout this series. Not that he didn’t have his reasons. He’d been through a lot… including an intervention with his friends when they realized where he was headed. Even those closest to him didn’t know the extent of his pain. From the beginning of Taking a Chance he had turned things around, but he still had a lot to deal with and he still felt guilty for depending on his friends. Augustus was dealing with his own kind of pain. He couldn’t fight his feelings for Elliot even though he knew he should stay as far away from him as possible. I felt for him as much as I felt for Elliot. It was a disaster waiting to happen, but I couldn’t help but be as drawn in as Elliot and Augie by their connection.

Even though Taking a Chance is focused on Elliot and Augustus, the previous characters spend a fair amount of time front and center. There was a lot to deal with in Taking a Chance. What impressed me most was the ‘realness’ of it all. From what the characters were going through to the very honest feelings of a young teenage girl… none of it was sugar coated and it left me feeling more than I’ve felt from more than one character in a single book for a very long time. A lot of it is going to stick with me for a while… I kinda love it when that happens, even with the tears.

The only real complaint I have with Taking a Chance is that I’m sorry to have to say good-bye to these characters. I can’t believe the series has already come to an end, but A.M. Arthur did say in her comments at the end of Taking a Chance that readers haven’t seen the last of this family of characters.

DragonFlyGreen4-5

One comment on “Taking a Chance (Restoration #3) by AM Arthur

  1. Pingback: [Book Review] Taking A Chance By A.M. Arthur & CoffeeAM Orange Coconut Flavored Coffee | Book And Coffee Addict

Leave a Reply

