Dead Sky Morning (Experiment in Terror #3) by Karina Halle

DeadSkyMorningWith the Experiment in Terror show finding some success, amateur ghost hunters Perry Palomino and Dex Foray embark on their most terrifying investigation yet. A tiny, fog-shrouded island in the rough strait between British Columbia and Washington State has held a dark secret for decades: It was a former leper colony where over forty souls were left to rot, die and bury each other. Now a functioning campground, Perry and Dex spend an isolated weekend there to investigate potential hauntings but as the duo quickly find out, there is more to fear on D’Arcy Island than just ghosts. The island quickly pits partner against partner, spiraling the pair into madness that serves to destroy their sanity, their relationship and their very lives.

Do you enjoy snarky characters? How about smart, witty characters with low self esteem? Maybe an ‘on again/off again’ forbidden romance floats your boat. If you can also handle more than a few ‘pee your pants’ worthy scary moments then Experiment in Terror is the series for you.

Okay, I may be exaggerating a little, but not much. Dex is probably my favorite character in this series, but I admit he drives me nuts sometimes. There’s obviously a lot more to him than readers have been clued in on so far, so I’m willing to cut him some slack. Perry on the other hand… Since this book is told totally by her POV, readers spend a lot of time in her head, which is both good and bad. I like Perry, but I spent a lot of time reading Dead Sky Morning wanting her to get some backbone, tell Dex what was really going on and gain a little… something. *sigh*

As for the story… saying I loved it would be admitting that I like having the crap scared out of me. Although I love nature, I wouldn’t call myself the ‘out-doorsy’ type. Even so, this book pretty much guaranteed that there will be no camping whatsoever in my immediate future. I may not be reading any history books that detail events that happened in my local area either. Just to be safe. I think it probably goes without saying that Karina Halle has a rather disturbing knack for bringing the past alive and not in a very good way. *shivers*

Aside from my obvious character issues, I’m loving this series. Although I’m sorry I started late, I have the advantage of not having to wait for the next book. Which is a very good thing. Even though Dead Sky Morning didn’t end in a cliff hanger, it definitely left me wanting more. I’ll still wait just a little while to pick up Lying Season to give myself a couple of nightmare free nights. 😉

DragonFlyRating4

 

2 comments on “Dead Sky Morning (Experiment in Terror #3) by Karina Halle

    • Good to know… normally I pick up the next book half way through the current book so I should be good. 😉 I already gathered from the description that Lying Season is going to be more than a little interesting….

Leave a Reply

