Spider’s Trap (Elemental Assassin #13) by Jennifer Estep

SpidersTrapKeep your friends close but your enemies within stabbing distance.
One important lesson I’ve learned in the assassination business is that to be the best you have to roll with the punches. Now that I’m queen of Ashland’s underworld—by default, not by choice—a lot more punches are being thrown my way. But I suppose that’s the price of victory for taking down some of the underworld’s top dogs. Good thing I have my Ice and Stone magic to help me survive my volatile new position. Just when I think things are finally settling down, someone tries to murder me during a hush-hush underworld meeting. But the real surprise is how strangely familiar my shadowy assailant seems to be.
My job is to maintain order among killers, crooks, and thieves, and soon I’m embroiled in a bloody game where the ability to keep secrets could be the greatest superpower of all. My enemies have all sharpened their knives and laid their traps, waiting for me to fall. But this Spider weaves her own webs of death…

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure113 books in and my love of Gin and company hasn’t faded one bit. If anything, my commitment to this series has gotten even stronger.

Gin’s standing in the Ashland underworld has taken a strange twist. She’s now the reluctant ‘boss’ of the underworld, but that doesn’t mean that she’s gained more respect. The opposite’s probably true. There’s a twist to the turn of events in Spider’s Trap though. One that brings out her unique sense of honor among assassins.

Once again, the family aspect of the Elemental Assassin series drew me in. Like it or not, Gin’s makeshift family is growing and her goal is to keep everyone safe. The stakes grow even higher this time around and when one of those members is almost lost, someone has to pay. It’s no surprise that Gin has no problem collecting.

The end of Spider’s Trap isn’t an end at all. It’s actually a rather intriguing intro to the next installment, Bitter Bite. Given what Gin uncovers, things are about to get even more interesting in Ashland. I can’t wait!

DragonFlyRating5

One comment on “Spider’s Trap (Elemental Assassin #13) by Jennifer Estep

  1. Pingback: [Book Review] Spider’s Trap By Jennifer Estep & Rose Park Roasters Ethiopian Beriti | Book And Coffee Addict

Leave a Reply

