Blood Street by Carl Alves

BloodStreetAlexei chose the wrong neighborhood to claim his latest victim. Now Philadelphia mob boss Enzo Salerno is determined to hunt down the man who killed his associate in such gruesome fashion in his South Philly row home.
Perplexed by this unnatural murder, Salerno uncovers clues that lead him to believe that this was not a mob hit, and that a vampire was responsible for this death. Magnus, the leader of Alexei’s brood, must now use all of his resources to save them from both the mafia and the FBI.

I’ve been introduced to a couple of new authors lately. I don’t take every review request I receive, but when the description of one piques my interest, I can’t turn it down. That’s what happened when I received the request for Blood Street. It wasn’t because it was a book like all the others I had been reading lately. It was more because it wasn’t.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Vampires are one of my favorite entities when it comes to supernatural beings, but most of the vampire books I read are PNR. There was nothing romantic about Blood Street… at least not much. The story was basically about a mob boss and the FBI agent whose soul agenda is to catch him teaming up to fight against a ruthless group of vampires. It was full of blood, gore, broken loyalty and shaky alliances. Not a light read by any stretch of the imagination, but a good read nonetheless.

Blood Street was also a book that pushed me into a totally different perspective. Not that the vampires I usually read about are less ruthless than Carl Alves’ version. It’s just that I usually find myself picking a side and forming a connection with one group or character. There were characters that I liked in Blood Street, but none that I really loved. Each one had moments that I sympathized with them, but they also had moments when they made me see the darker side of them and totally understand why they were the villain. For the record, I liked having my perspective shaken a little.

It’s kind of hard to say whether or not good won out over evil by the end of Blood Street. It was definitely a stand alone book, but there was enough left open at the end to make way for the story to continue. Enough that I think I’ll probably be checking out more of Carl Alves’ books just so I don’t lose track of what else he may have in store.

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

