Moon Called (Mercy Thompson #1) by Patricia Briggs

MoonCalledMercedes “Mercy” Thompson is a talented Volkswagen mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. She also happens to be a walker, a magical being with the power to shift into a coyote at will. Mercy’s next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she’s fixing a bus for a vampire. This is the world of Mercy Thompson, one that looks a lot like ours but is populated by those things that go bump in the night. And Mercy’s connection to those things is about to get her into some serious hot water.

I have just one question… am I the last one to pick up this series? The funny thing is that when I checked out who among my friends had read it, they basically thought that they were behind in picking up Mercy Thompson. Most of them are at least a year ahead of me (with one noted exception that I will get to later.) That must mean I’m the last one, right? On the off chance that there are a few of you out there that haven’t been introduced, this is one Urban Fantasy that you need to add to your TBR list. You can thank me later 😉

The world that Patricia Briggs built for these characters is interwoven with several different supernatural beings. Some have ‘come out’ to the humans, but not all. Mercy is the odd one in her group of friends. She’s a walker/shifter, but the wolves don’t claim her. Most of them have basically shunned her. Regardless, she has connections to basically all the supernatural entities. It not only makes her life interesting, but pretty complicated at times. Saying not all of them play ‘nicely’ together is putting it mildly.

I gotta say, I love this character’s attitude. She’s not a killer and avoids violence, but she’ll do whatever it takes to protect those she feels loyal to. She’s smart, witty and just a little bit broken, but that doesn’t slow her down.

Basically, there’s nothing not to love about this book. The supporting characters are just as interesting and witty as Mercy. I love the supernatural world that they inhabit. There’s plenty of action and the potential for romance… if only we knew who with? Yeah, there’s a potential triangle, which is sure to keep things interesting. There’s also a fair amount of ‘snarkiness’ which I love in dialogue…

Unexpectedly, he laughed. “Trust you to quote Lancelot rather than Guinevere.”

“Both of them were stupid,” I told him. “Arthur should have let them marry each other as punishment and gone off to live happily on his own. I only like Camelot for the music.” I hummed a bit.

Yeah, I think I’m gonna love this series. You should also know that this series is closely related to Patricia Briggs Alpha and Omega series. If you’re serious about starting this series, here’s a handy timeline that Patricia Briggs has provided for readers. Some of the characters overlap and events in one play into the other. I learned this from that other reader I mentioned earlier. I may have ignored this series for a little while longer until I noticed Laura at Little Read Riding Hood plowing through both series one book after another. When she is that caught up in a series, I pay attention. 😉

DragonFlyRating5

 

4 comments on “Moon Called (Mercy Thompson #1) by Patricia Briggs

  1. Yay…great review! I read this first book AGES ago, but never the rest of the series until about 6 months ago. I ADORE IT!! smiles…

    • Thanks Christi. I saw your review on GR. I really need to push myself to keep up the momentum with this series and the Alpha and Omega one too. I love these characters. 😉

  2. One of my all-time favorite series– I have all the Mercy books in paperback. You’ll enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

