Nobody’s Hero (Letting Go #1) by J. Leigh Bailey

NobodysHeroBradley Greene’s family all but discarded him when his brother caught him fooling around with another boy. Now Bradley has seventeen dollars and a gas card, and he’s sleeping in his car. He’s an emotional mess and if he doesn’t land a job soon, he’s up the proverbial creek.

Danny Ortega can take care of himself…most of the time. When what started as a date turns into sexual assault in a dark parking lot, he’s grateful for Brad’s help—and an instant admirer of Brad’s military school-honed muscles. He certainly doesn’t expect to see him again, and definitely not as the newest hire at Ortega Construction.

As Brad and Danny’s quiet attraction turns into more, things start to go sour before they’ve even started. Danny grows frustrated that Brad won’t open up emotionally. And Brad is terrified of being responsible for someone else’s feelings. When Brad’s family makes one last attempt to turn him into an “acceptable” son, all bets are off—he and Danny will need to decide if they’re in this together…or apart.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Every once in a while I pick up a book and it gnaws at me. It literally won’t let me put it down until I finish it. Books like that don’t happen often but when they do it’s because of the emotional pull. Nobody’s Hero was definitely that kind of book for me.

Brad pulled me in from the time he was introduced. It was obvious he was broken, but he was determined to survive. His back story was revealed in bits and pieces and my heart broke for him with every revelation. He was a lot stronger than he gave himself credit for. Honestly, I’m not sure that many people could have walked away from the hell that Brad went through and be in one piece, much less have their sanity intact. That’s not saying that Brad was okay, because he wasn’t. Not even close.

Danny had no idea how to deal with Brad’s history and the way he ‘handled’ it. He just knew that he cared enough about him to try. The attraction between the two of them was evident from the time they met. They did a lot of dancing around the inevitable. I admired Danny’s patience, but everyone has their limits.

This book was aptly named because this book was full of heroes. Brad and Danny took turns being each others’ hero. The Ortega family was beyond heroic and the love that the family shared, not only with each other but with everyone they cared about brought me to tears more than once. Mr. Ortega was the kind of father every child should be lucky enough to have and I would definitely never want to cross Mrs. Ortega. The respect and love they both garnered from their family was impressive.

On the flip side, I don’t think I could imagine in my wildest dreams a more dysfunctional, arrogant, abusive, entitled family than Brad’s.  I could go on, but I think you get the picture. Every time someone crossed Mrs. Greene and attempted to put her in her place I wanted to give them a high five.

This was the first book I’ve read by J. Leigh Bailey, but I’m in search of more. I’m also really hoping that Nobody’s Hero is part of a series even though Brad and Danny’s story came to a satisfying close with lots of hope for their future.

DragonFlyGreen4-5

Leave a Reply

