Cold Burn of Magic (Black Blade #1) Jennifer Estep

ColdBurnOfMagicThere Be Monsters Here. . .
It’s not as great as you’d think, living in a tourist town that’s known as “the most magical place in America.” Same boring high school, just twice as many monsters under the bridges and rival Families killing each other for power.
I try to keep out of it. I’ve got my mom’s bloodiron sword and my slightly illegal home in the basement of the municipal library. And a couple of Talents I try to keep quiet, including very light fingers and a way with a lock pick.
But then some nasty characters bring their Family feud into my friend’s pawn shop, and I have to make a call–get involved, or watch a cute guy die because I didn’t. I guess I made the wrong choice, because now I’m stuck putting everything on the line for Devon Sinclair. My mom was murdered because of the Families, and it looks like I’m going to end up just like her.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Okay, I have to admit that Cold Burn of Magic took me a little while to get into. I can’t really put my finger on why or exactly when things started picking up, but once they did I had a hard time putting it down. Now I can’t wait until the next book in Black Blade is released.

I’m a big fan of Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassin series and there are several things about Cold Burn of Magic that remind me of that series. Their worlds are totally different, but both Gin and Lila live in a society where magic is power and in the wrong hands, it’s deadly.

Lila grew up knowing that she had to keep her magic secret. Since her mom’s death, she looked out for number one and didn’t stick her neck out for anyone else. She cared about no one else, except Mo (the only person she trusted) and she was fine being on her own. Until Devon. From that moment on it was obvious that she had a stronger sense of loyalty and protectiveness than even she knew she had. She learned a lot in Cold Burn of Magic, about her past and about herself.

The world was laid out and the players were introduced, which is to be expected in the first book in a series. Lila’s background was revealed in bits and pieces, which worked well. I liked the supporting characters… well, the ones that I didn’t hate and there were more than a couple of those. There was plenty of action, a few twists and turns, an unexpected villain and a hint of romance, but no teenage angst, which I really appreciated. I think I’m going to enjoy the Black Blade series and we only have until October to see what’s in store for Lila and everyone else in Dark Heart of Magic.

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

