New Blood (Bloody Little Secrets #2) by Karly Kirkpatrick

NewBloodThere is a killer in Bartlett, Illinois and it isn’t Vicky Hernandez. New vampire Vicky and her friends are determined to figure out who is filling their senior year with dead bodies. Vicky suspects the killer is from close to home, but her discovery ends up sending them far from Bartlett.

I was honestly debating on whether or not to re-read Bloody Little Secrets before picking up New Blood. Since it’s been taunting me to read it since I downloaded it I decided I couldn’t wait any longer. Turns out I shouldn’t have worried. Karly Kirkpatrick did an amazing job of catching me up as I read. That doesn’t mean that I won’t ever re-read the first book in this series and it definitely doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t read the books in order. There wasn’t a lot of back story given, just enough to jog my memory and to know that New Blood takes up pretty much where Bloody Little Secrets ends.

Vicky and her friends thought they got rid of the danger stalking them and things would settle down enough for them to relax a little. Turns out getting rid of one source of danger was inviting another. They soon found out that the vampire hierarchy is far reaching.

I have to admit that the scenario set up in New Blood was a little crazy, but it still worked. I don’t want to give anything, so there’s not a lot I can tell you. Regardless of how crazy the circumstances, it still made me think ‘what if?’ I love when authors do that. I also still love Karly Kirkpatrick’s vampires. They’re not perfect. They’re monsters who are trying to survive without killing anyone in the process, which isn’t always easy. They’re teenagers who thankfully have a moral compass. They still do impetuous things and end up paying the consequences.

New Blood doesn’t end in a cliff hanger, but it’s obvious that there’s more to come. I can’t wait to see what the author has in store for this human/vampire mix before they end their senior year.

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a Reply

