Aurora by Amos Cassidy

Aurora FinalThree hundred years ago humanity almost eradicated itself…almost, but not quite. As is the persistence of human kind, we hung on; we survived, but the world as we knew it was changed forever. The exact details of what happened have been lost in time. All we know is that this is our world now and we have no choice but to live in it….

Oz and his sister True have been traveling for as long as they can remember. Ma feels that staying on the move is safe, that it prevents them getting lazy and complacent. It’s a better way to avoid bandits and raiders, a more effective way to stay alive. But the thing, the person that protects them is Oz – a lethal fighter who will go to any lengths to defend his family.

Oz makes money from cage fights while dreaming of a better life for them all – a home where they can be truly safe. True dreams of freedom, love and hope and just when she thinks she’s found it their world is turned upside down and they are forced to embark on a journey that rips them apart. For when True is taken by an unknown enemy Oz must enlist the help of a man from the shadows to save her.

I may have mentioned once or twice that Dystopian novels and I have a love/hate relationship. That doesn’t mean that I don’t like them. I wouldn’t keep picking them up if I didn’t. It’s more the fact that it takes me a while to get wrapped up in the unique worlds the authors have so painstakingly created. Once I’m there, I’m good. The only reason I’m bringing this up… again… is because I didn’t have that problem with Aurora. I’d love to tell you why, but I can’t. If I had to guess though I’d say it’s because of the rapid, intense intro and my instant love of both True and Oz.

There wasn’t much ‘down time’ in Aurora. The world that Amos Cassidy created in Aurora was beyond harsh… and then it got worse. I guess I should apologize for being vague, but there were some major twists and turns in Aurora and I don’t want to give anything away. The main thing that you need to know is that NOTHING is as it seems. There’s more than one reality at play in Aurora, the one that True and Oz grew up in and the one that was hidden from them. Once those two worlds collide things begin to get really interesting.

The POV in Aurora switched between True and Oz and a few other characters, which kept things interesting. It also gave readers a little bit more perspective than the characters had. There were times that this wasn’t the easiest book to read, but as the cliche goes, ‘there’s a moral to the story’ and with any luck, those who read it will get it.

DragonFlyGreen4-5

One comment on “Aurora by Amos Cassidy

Leave a Reply

