Misfits by Garrett Leigh

MisfitsRestaurant owner Tom Fearnes has loved his partner Cass for as long as he can remember, but their work often keeps them apart. When he meets a striking young man named Jake on the vibrant streets of Camden Town, their heady first encounter takes an unexpected turn.

Jake Thompson can hardly believe his luck when he wakes up in Tom’s bed. Tom is gorgeous, kind, and . . . taken. Tom’s explanation of his open relationship leaves Jake cold, but Tom is too tempting, and when hard times force Jake to accept Tom’s helping hand, he finds himself between two men who’ve lost their way.

Cass Pearson is a troubled soul. He loves Tom with all he has, but some days it feels like he hasn’t much to give. Jake seems like the perfect solution. Cass risks everything to push Jake and Tom together, but Jake resists, wary, until the darkness of Cass’s past comes to call. Then Jake finds himself the last man standing, and it’s time to dig deep and shine a light for the men he’s grown to love.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I can honestly say that I had no idea what to expect from this book. I also have to admit that there has to be something special about a menage to make me leap into reading one. It pretty much has to promise to be funny or emotionally intense… Misfits falls into the intense category, but it’s also very sweet. Even though I understood exactly where Jake’s reluctance to continue any sort of relationship with Tom came from, it didn’t take me long to fall in love with all three of these guys and gain a new understanding.

Even though Cass and Tom were totally devoted to each other, the fact that they had an open relationship proved that there was something missing. From the very beginning, open relationship or not, both Cass and Tom knew that Jake was different for both of them.

There was so much to love about this book. I loved Jake’s fierce independence. I loved Tom’s sense of protectiveness toward both Jake and Cass and I adored Cass’ devotion to Tom that allowed him to see exactly what Jake needed and call Tom out when he didn’t step up the way he thought he should. Sounds confusing, I know, but it worked.

This story also touched on a disability that I never really thought about, but will never think about in the same way. Jake had Tourette’s Syndrome. He dealt with it the best way he could and the more I got to know him, the more I admired him. The amazing part of Misfits was how Tom and Cass accepted it as just a part of him, yet in very different ways. True to his personality, Tom wanted to protect him. Cass took the ‘head on’ approach. Jake needed and appreciated both and unwittingly brought them even closer together.

Beyond the story itself, I loved the writing. Descriptions like these made me smile…

There was a scrabbling noise at the back door. Tom wandered over and granted entrance to the lean streak of feline attitude who fought him for Cass’s affection.

There weren’t a lot of supporting characters, but the ones that were introduced were important and said a lot about the kind of characters Tom, Cass and Jake were. It was also refreshing to find a family who not only supported each other, but loved them unconditionally…

Rich rolled his eyes. “You don’t have to be diplomatic , Jake, about any of it. I don’t get to see my little brother as much as I’d like, but I know him, and I know when he’s happy. Cass too. No one around here is ever going to argue with that.”

*sigh* So yeah, menage’s aren’t my ‘go-to’ when it comes to romance, but I’m definitely glad that I took a chance on Misfits. It’s one of those books that proves without a shadow of doubt that love is love and if you’re lucky enough to find it, don’t question it. Don’t deny it, or run from it. Just hold on to it as tightly as you can.

DragonFlyGreen4-5

2 comments on “Misfits by Garrett Leigh

Leave a Reply

