Tall, Dark & Vampire (Dead in the City #1) by Sara Humphreys

TallDarkVampireHe’s dying to have her…

She always knew Fate was cruel…

The last person Olivia Hollingsworth expected to see at her Greenwich Village vampire club was her one true love, Doug Paxton—whom she believed to be dead for centuries. Olivia thought she had moved on, but when Doug reappears, her heart knows she’d rather die than lose him again.

But this is beyond the pale…

Ever since Doug can remember, a red-haired siren has haunted his dreams. He never thought she could be real until he goes to investigate a murder at Olivia’s night club. However, as the bodies keep piling up at her feet, he must fight to prove her innocence—even if it costs him his life…

One of the many dangers of reading lots and lots of books is reading one or two of them out of order from time to time. (That’s this week’s excuse anyway.) Yes, I know. You’ve heard it before. This time I read Vampire’s Never Cry Wolf, the third book in Sara Humphrey’s Dead in the City series, before I read the first two books. As you can see, I’m busy rectifying that. (We won’t discuss my next dilemma… this series is a spin-off of the Amoveo Legend series. *sigh*)

As for Olivia and Doug’s story? I loved it. Doug’s been dreaming about Olivia, just as she’s been dreaming about Doug. Even though Olivia recognizes what’s happening, there’s no way they can be together because Doug’s human. Humans aren’t changed into vampires on a whim, at least not by Olivia. Doug has no clue what’s going on except he can’t get Olivia out of his head or his dreams and meeting that dream girl in person doesn’t help clear things up for him. From the moment that these two are together, it’s obvious that destiny has other plans.

Since Tall, Dark and Vampire was the first book in the Dead in the City series, lots of characters were introduced and the ground work was set for the rest of the series. There was plenty of heat, lots of action and more than a few surprises and unique twists that I didn’t see coming. Even so, I kind of wish I had read this one first because I wasn’t as surprised as I should have been at times. There are just some things that you can’t ‘unlearn,’ but there were more than enough moments that made up for my prior knowledge 😉

I consider Tall, Dark and Vampire an excellent start to a series that I’m going to enjoy reading my way through. It also gave me just one more reason to re-introduce myself to the Amoveo Legend series.

DragonFlyGreen4-5