Merchant of Death Virtual Book Tour

MerchantOfDeath_TourBanner

Hi! We’re Lisa Henry and J.A. Rock, the authors of THE MERCHANT OF DEATH. We’re touring the web taking about our influences, our processes, anything we can think about actually, and even giving you guys a sneak peak or two! And what would a blog tour be without a contest? Check out the details at the bottom of the post to see what you can win!

Today, Mac tries to get to the bottom of Henry’s egg obsession.

Mac: They’re a metaphor. For you. The blank—
Henry: Oh yeah, the blank slate of cookery. You told me that in the store in Altona. It’s a pretty good metaphor, but, come on, let’s not overthink it. Maybe I just like eggs because they taste good and you can make cakes from them, and they’re my favorite food.
Mac: But they’re not your favorite food. Junk food is your favorite food.
Henry: True. Want some of my Twizzler?
Mac: No.
Henry: Personally, I think it all goes back to Egbert.
Mac: Who?
Henry: Egbert. He was my egg-child in high school.
Mac: Your what?
Henry: My egg-child. Didn’t they ever make you do that thing at school where you carry an egg around and pretend it’s a baby, to show what a negligent parent you’d be if you did naughty things with a girl? Mine was called Egbert. I loved him, from his flawless alabaster skin to…well, there wasn’t much else to him, really. I drew him a smiley face, because I wanted my firstborn child to be happy, and I loved him. Mac. I doubt there’s ever been a father in the history of the world who loved his egg-child so tenderly.
Mac: Right. And you got so emotionally attached to him that now you like to eat eggs?
Henry: I’m EATING MY FEELINGS, MAC! Egbert, I loved you! Why did you leave me, my only son? Why?
Mac: You have issues. Shut up and eat your Twizzler.
Henry: Can we get omelets for lunch?
Mac: Maybe. So you’re never going to tell me the real reason about the egg thing, are you?
Henry: Oh, Mac. Isn’t my Egbert story so much more fun than some prosaic, unimaginative story?
Mac: Like what?
Henry: Like my mom used to cook eggs for breakfast on weekends. Boring, right? Where’s the excitement, the tension, the emotional hook?
Mac: Not all stories need those things.
Henry: That’s it. With an attitude like that, you aren’t helping me with my screenplay.
Mac: Thank god.
Henry: And I won’t thank you in my Oscar acceptance either.
Mac: I can probably live with that crushing disappointment. Now where do you want to get your omelet?

About THE MERCHANT OF DEATH:

 

MerchantOfDeath_400x600All’s fair in love and war.

There’s something rotten in the state of Indiana. When con man Henry Page takes it upon himself to investigate the death of an elderly patient at a care facility, he does so in true Shakespearean tradition: dressed as a girl.

FBI Agent Ryan “Mac” McGuinness has more to worry about than Henry’s latest crazy idea. Someone is trying to send him a message—via a corpse with a couple of bullets in it. He needs to figure out who’s trying to set him up before he gets arrested, and he really doesn’t have time for Henry’s shenanigans. Then again, he’d probably be able to focus better if Henry didn’t look so damn distracting in a babydoll dress and a wig.

But when Mac discovers that Henry has been keeping a secret that connects the cases, he has to find a way to live on the right side of the law when he just might be in love with the wrong sort of man.

You can check out THE MERCHANT OF DEATH at Riptide.

The Giveaway: Thanks for following our tour! To celebrate our release, we’re giving away an awesome prize – an ebook copy of a novel of your choice from either of our back catalogs. We’re also giving away a $20 Riptide gift voucher, and Mac’s favorite coffee mug. What? It’s not like he’s supposed to be drinking coffee.

All you have to do is leave a comment on this post with a way for us to contact you, be it your email, your twitter, or a link to your facebook or goodreads account. Please put your email in the body of the comment, not just in email section of the comment form, because we won’t be able to see it otherwise! On February 12, 2015, we’ll draw a winner from all eligible comments! Be sure to follow the whole tour, because the more comments you leave, the more chances you have to win the prize!

By creativedeeds

11 comments on “Merchant of Death Virtual Book Tour

  1. I freaking loved this! Egbert, his only son. Seriously, where do the authors come up with this literary gold?

    Waxapplelover (at) gmail (dot) com

  2. Thanks so much for the comments, everyone!

    @waxapplelover, Egbert might have been the name of my egg child when I was in high school. It ended tragically when he fell out of his cradle. Which was a paper cup hanging by a string. So, probably inevitable…

Leave a Reply

