Hansel #1 by Ella James

HanselOne boy. Mother calls him Hansel.
One girl. Mother named her Gretel.
Locked in little rooms, in the mountainside mansion of a crazy woman.
Until he saws a hole into the wall dividing them.
Then at least, they have each other’s hands.

It doesn’t end well at Mother’s house.
Everything gets…broken. 

Ten years later, they meet again in an exclusive Vegas sex club.
Whips.
Chains.
And most of all, a mask.
What happens to love when it gets twisted? 

Fairy tales are cautionary tales, remember?

There are twisted fairy tales and then there are fairy tales that are twisted. I know it sounds like they are one in the same, but trust me they’re not. Hansel falls into the second category for me.

When I think about twisted fairy tales, I think about an adult version of one of the popular stories that we learned as kids. Probably with a little magic thrown into the mix and a paranormal aspect. Hansel was more a twisted tale of a very twisted individual that kidnapped ‘unwanted’ kids to help her reenact her own sick version of the traditional tales. I’m not saying that there’s anything wrong with it, I’m just saying it’s not exactly what I was expecting.

Once again, this story follows the same format as Red & Wolfe. The story is told in parts, and the first installment is just an introduction. I think I would have enjoyed both stories more if I could just continue through the four parts to the end of the tale.

I’ve got one more 1st installment to read (Beast) and then I think I’ll pick one of them to finish reading from start to finish. That’s one advantage to having the 1st installment offered as a Freebie. You can get a little taste and decide if you want to continue. 😉

DragonFlyGreen3-5

2 comments on “Hansel #1 by Ella James

    • There’s more than that to wrap your head around. The fact that the ‘witch’ of a woman was a collector that used the kids to play out her fantasies did get me past the brother/sister thing… It would be hard to pick up before you knew that though. That’s why I looked at it more as a really twisted character than a true twisted fairy tale. 😉

Leave a Reply

