Dark Union (Descent #3) by SM Reine

DarkUnionEvery fifty years, the most powerful ethereal and infernal beings convene on Earth to resolve conflicts with mediation by kopides–humans born to police relations between Heaven and Hell. They’re meeting in Elise Kavanagh’s territory this year, and she used to be the greatest kopis in the world. But she’s not invited.
An old friend, Lucas McIntyre, asks her to attend the summit in his place. But when she arrives, she discovers that a human faction called The Union has taken charge of the summit, and they’re not playing nice. Worse yet, someone has killed a prominent Union member, and now they’re demanding blood.
Elise has to bring justice to the summit in DARK UNION, a 33,000-word (120 page) urban fantasy novella featuring a decrepit ghost town, angry men with guns, and even angrier angels.

Sometimes I wish I would have read these books before I read the Ascension series. It’s giving me an interesting perspective though. I’m getting re-introduced to characters. I’m also picking up on hints of things to come that I probably never would have noticed. It’s also reinforced how complicated this world is and exactly how interwoven the Descent, Seasons of the Moon, Cain Chronicles, Tarot Witches and Preternatural Affairs series actually are.

Dark Union introduces readers to the Union. There’s more to their agenda than meets the eye and they’re not a group that you want to antagonize…. so of course, Elise does just that. Not without good reason though.

There are a lot of turning points in Dark Union and deception comes from unexpected places. A couple of characters come to realizations that they weren’t exactly ready for and more than a few secrets are revealed. There was so much going on that it didn’t even matter that James wasn’t around… well, maybe he was missed just a little.

Even though I know where the story ends up, I can’t wait to see how it gets there. I love getting to know these characters even better than I thought I did. James and Elise have a lot to go through, as well as the rest of the characters. I can’t wait to finish my game of catch-up so I can start the whole thing all over again. 😉

DragonFlyRating5SeriouslySeries2014

4 comments on “Dark Union (Descent #3) by SM Reine

    • The first book I read by S.M. Reine was Six Moon Summer. From that point on I was hooked. I only made it to the second or third book and got side tracked… (you know, so many books and too little time.) When I found out about the Ascension series, I got pulled back in. (Actually, I think I got an email from her describing the series and asking if I wanted to read it.) That’s all it took. From that point on I’ve been going back and forth between finishing the rest of the Seasons of the Moon, Cain Chronicles and finally the Descent series. I’ve gone about it totally wrong, but I’m loving every minute of it. The Descent series is a lot darker than the Seasons of the Moon, but Elise is a lot darker than Rylie. That’s the beauty of Reine’s writing though. Her characters are as distinct as the world she’s created. Bringing the threads of both series together was brilliant. You’ll have to let me know when you get into James and Elise’s story. Enjoy! 😉

      • You mean the series are interconnected? Wow, authors take their world-building seriously. I love it, of course, but it makes it very hard on my wallet because I am compelled to also buy the other series. Thanks for the reco!

      • Riley, Abel and Seth are all part of the Seasons of the Moon series. Riley and James are from the Descent series and SM Reine brought them all together in the Ascension series. The Preternatural Affairs and Tarot Witches are from the same world too. It’s amazing how she’s brought them all together. Enjoy the trip!

Leave a Reply

