Deadly Obsession (Brown & de Luca #4) by Maggie Shayne

DeadlyObsessionA cold-blooded killer with a burning obsession…

Rachel de Luca has a bad feeling about the new woman in Detective Mason Brown’s life, the nurse taking care of him after he’s injured in the line of duty. She’d like to think it’s just jealousy, but intuition tells her it’s something more, maybe something dangerous.

Mason knows Rachel’s wary of commitment, and asking her to stay when he’s in this condition would be the worst thing for their relationship. Then they receive chilling news that drives everything else from their minds.

Mason’s psychotic sister-in-law has escaped from custody, putting her sons — the nephews he’s raising — in the crosshairs. When his house is burned to the ground, he and Rachel are relieved that there are no bodies in the smoldering rubble, but now his nephews are missing and the clock is ticking.

As Mason and Rachel try to find the boys, she senses a new and unexpected danger stalking them. Soon, everyone close to Mason is in deadly peril — Rachel more than anyone…

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1Okay, so I might have had this ARC in my possession for a couple of weeks… or more. I also might have been avoiding it. I’m not proud of that fact. The truth is, I’m a wimp. I didn’t want to read Deadly Obsession. Not because I was dreading the story itself. It was simply because I just wasn’t ready to say goodbye to Rachel and Mason. *sigh*

I think I can honestly say that this series is one of my favorites. I love Rachel’s spunk. Her gritty personality and her passionate loyalty and her intense emotions. Yeah, I love Rachel. She has commitment issues, but she’s hiding behind them. Her heart was committed to Mason, Josh and Jeremy long before her mind caught up with the fact. Her inner dialogue was priceless.

As usual, the bad guy in this one was beyond anything I would have expected. Maggie Shayne holds nothing back and even though readers are clued in pretty early on about who the true enemy is, that doesn’t take away from the drama or the suspense.

There were no wasted pages, scenes or face time with any of the characters. Even Myrtle got equal billing in Deadly Obsession and it was well deserved.

So, was I happy with the way things turned out? I have to admit that even though I’m sorry that my time with Brown & de Luca has come to an end, it was a perfect conclusion. It’s probably time for Rachel and Mason to catch a well deserved break. That doesn’t mean however that I would be opposed to meeting these characters again. I’m sure Maggie Shayne has a lot of other awesome characters that I have yet to be introduced to. She’s definitely an author that has earned an automatic spot on my TBR list. 😉

DragonFlyRating5

 

4 comments on “Deadly Obsession (Brown & de Luca #4) by Maggie Shayne

    • I’ve read several books by Maggie Shayne and I can honestly say that this is my current favorite series from her. Rachel is such a snarky ‘real’ character. And Mason is the perfect balance for her. Hope you decide to pick it up 😉

Leave a Reply

