Beyond Shame (Beyond #1) by Kit Rocha

BeyondShameAll Noelle Cunningham has ever wanted is a life beyond–beyond the walls of Eden, where only the righteous are allowed to remain, and beyond her stiflingly restrictive existence as a councilman’s daughter. But only ruins lie outside the City, remnants of a society destroyed by solar storms decades earlier.

The sectors surrounding Eden house the corrupt, the criminal–men like Jasper McCray, bootlegger and cage fighter. Jas clawed his way up from nothing to stand at the right hand of Sector Four’s ruthless leader, and he’ll defend the O’Kane gang with his life. But no fight ever prepared him for the exiled City girl who falls at his feet.

Her innocence is undeniable, but so is their intense sexual attraction, and soon they’re crossing every boundary Noelle barely knew she had. But if she wants to belong to Jas, first she’ll have to open herself to the gang, to a dangerous world of sex, lust and violence. A world where passion is power, and freedom is found in submission. 

Wow… okay, so this was my first Kit Rocha read and I was totally unprepared. I’m not complaining, honest. I loved the world building. This was one dystopian that I had no problem wrapping my head around. The world was pretty simple to grasp (not simple by definition or by set-up.) Those within the walls of Eden were privileged. Those outside the walls lived in slums and were the lowest of the low… on the surface. It didn’t take long to realize that I’d rather take my chances on the outside of those walls, for a lot of reasons.

Noelle stumbled right out of the walls of Eden after being exiled and into the arms of Jasper. From that point on, neither one of them stood a chance. It was obvious that they were destined. It just took them a while to realize it.

The people in Sector 4 lived hard, fought hard and loved with the same fierceness and intensity. They were loyal to the O’Kanes and wore the ink to prove it. This is definitely not a series to go into lightly, but I can promise you that you’ll walk away from it feeling something. It would be impossible not to.

The characters, the world building, the intensity… all make the Beyond series one that I’m going to enjoy devouring. There’s no other word for it. The next book, Beyond Control features Dallas and Lex. I’m glad that no time was wasted getting to these two characters. They were ready to combust and take everyone in Sector 4 right along with them by the end of Beyond Shame. I’ll be doing some skipping around before I get to them though. Just a little diversion, but trust me, Beyond Control has been moved way up on my TBR list.

DragonFlyRating4

