Bluewater Bay Virtual Book Tour – There’s Something About Ari

BWB_TourBanner

Hi, and thanks for stopping by on the massive Bluewater Bay Virtual Book Tour. And thanks to our host for having me! My name is L.B. Gregg and I write m/m contemporary romantic comedies. This week, the second book in Riptide’s multi author series Bluewater Bay is my very own contribution—There’s Something About Ari.

Some of my favorite romance novels of all time are second chance stories when characters meet as children or teenagers and years later, after overcoming some necessary drama, they find happily ever after.  In There’s Something About Ari, at age seven, Buck Ellis falls in love with Ari Valentine. He might not know what love is exactly, but he’s smart enough to see that Ari Valentine is someone special. Confident, fun, exciting, and adventurous, Ari’s friendship becomes the light guiding Buck through loneliness and grief. Buck knows that they’re meant to be together.

Of course, it’s a romance novel, so things are never easy!

I invite you to read the opening scene in There’s Something About Ari.

TheresSomethingAboutAriAri said, “I’m in Mr. Bennett’s room.”
“Me, too.” Mr. Bennett might sit Ari next to me, because 
I modeled good behavior. That’s what all the teachers said. “Why are you wearing the yellow Power Ranger? That one’s a girl.”

“Yellow’s my favorite color. I don’t care if it’s a girl’s shirt. I like girls. They’re okay. I really like your shirt.” I was wearing a blue Cub Scout shirt, like all the other boys in my class, and the fabric pulled across my chest. “Are you in Scouts?”

I nodded. “We don’t do much, yet. We’re supposed to go camping. That’s why I joined. My mom just had a baby and she can’t take me camping anymore.” I didn’t mention the thing about my dad being sick, because it made my stomach hurt and I’d eaten a lot of candy. I didn’t want to puke in front of the other kids.

Ari twisted on the swing. “Can I come too? To Scouts? And camping? I could go with you. We can be friends, if you want. I like you. We can go together.”

I like you.

Those three words pierced the loneliness and chased away my shyness. I pictured the two of us walking into the Scouts meeting room, side by side. Sharing a tent on the sleepover. Eating marshmallows and reading comic books. Shooting rockets in the backyard like my dad used to do. A friend.

My friend.

Hope curled inside my belly, and it soothed the hunger that Skittles never eased. I gripped the metal chain with one hand; the other, I wiped on my clean school pants. I held my palm above my head, waiting until Ari beamed and slapped me up high with a solid thwack.

Best high five ever.
That’s the day I fell in love with Ari Valentine.

When not working from her home in the rolling hills of Northwestern Connecticut, author L.B. Gregg can be spotted in coffee shops from Berlin to Singapore to Panama–sipping lattes and writing sweet, hot, often funny, stories about men who love men. www.lbgregg.com

Every comment on this blog tour enters you in a drawing for a $10 Riptide Publishing store credit. Entries close at midnight, Eastern time, on November 16th, and winners will be announced on November 17th.  Contest is NOT restricted to U.S. entries.

By creativedeeds

There’s Something About Ari (Bluewater Bay #2) by L.B. Gregg

TheresSomethingAboutAriBuck Ellis’s future seems pretty damn bright. With a full college scholarship in hand, he’s going to ditch Bluewater Bay and pave the way for his kid brother Charlie to do the same. The only fly in Buck’s ointment is his ten-year addiction to his best friend since second grade, his true love, and his Achilles heel: Ari Valentine, Mr. Least Likely to Succeed.

But then Buck’s mother dies, changing everything, and five years later, his future is still on hold. It’s a struggle to keep food on the table, a roof over their heads, and Charlie on the straight and narrow. Buck can’t afford any temptation, especially in the form of the newly returned, super hot, super confident, super successful television star Ari Valentine.

ADHD poster-child Ari Valentine left for Hollywood and lost everything, including his bad reputation. Then the breakthrough role of his skyrocketing career lands him back in Bluewater Bay, to the stunned disbelief of, well, everyone. But there’s only one person Ari longs to impress—the only person who ever really mattered to him, the person he left behind: Buck Ellis.

Oh Ari… I loved him from the time he flew onto the page… almost literally. He was adorable. Not only that, he be-friended Buck, who obviously needed a friend. From that moment on, I was a complete and total fan of Ari. Honestly, that first chapter pulled me in and the characters never let go. The only complaint that I have about There’s Something About Ari is that I wanted more. *sigh*

I think what I liked most about There’s Something About Ari was the character’s voice. The book was told from Buck’s POV and his inner dialogue was great. The banter and interactions between the characters was fun and ‘real’. I honestly fell in love with them all. I loved Buck’s hovering dedication for Charlie. I loved the ‘friends to lovers’ romance between Buck and Ari and I loved that the story itself was beyond sweet. The back story was heart breaking for both Buck and Ari. That in itself made me want them to be together.

So, yeah… There’s Something About Ari cemented my first impression that Bluewater Bay is definitely a series I’m going to be following closely. There was one short cameo from the previous book and I’m sure as the series progresses readers will be seeing more of them. Hopefully Ari and Buck will be making another appearance. 😉 The next book in the series is Hell on Wheels by Z.A. Maxfield. I can’t wait to see what happens next as the cast and crew from Wolf’s Landing continue their descent on Bluewater Bay. 😉

DragonFlyRating4