On Every Street (The Artists Trilogy #.05) by Karina Halle

OnEveryStreetRecommended to be read AFTER Sins & Needles (book #1).

When young con artist Ellie Watt decides to call herself Eden White and go after the drug lord who ruined her as a child, she never expects to fall for one of his henchmen. But Javier Bernal is no ordinary man. Subtly dangerous and overwhelmingly seductive, Eden finds herself passionately in love with Javier, the very person she’s set-up to betray. With her body and heart in a heated battle against her deep need for revenge, no one will walk away from this con a winner.

Takes place six years before Sins & Needles. It can be read before or after Sins & Needles and may also be read as a standalone.

Just a note to readers. Pay attention to the recommendation shown in the description. This is one time that reading books in ‘order’ is not a good thing. Sometimes there are things that you need to know ahead of time and there are some things that you don’t. This is a perfect example. Did I follow the recommendation? Of course not – so take this as advice from the voice of experience. 😉

I read On Every Street after reading both Sins & Needles and Shooting Scars. Did it ruin either story for me? No, but I really wish I would have read it after Sins & Needles if for no other reason than it would have helped me relate to Ellie and some of the decisions she made in Shooting Scars just a little bit more.

That being said, if you’ve picked up the Artists Trilogy and you’re debating on whether or not to read On Every Street…. Wondering whether or not it’s just filler and can be skipped, stop wondering and pick it up. Yeah, there’s a lot you already know that’s covered, but there’s so much more that you don’t. Little details that may seem obscure on the surface, but make things so much clearer.

Did On Every Street turn me into a fan of Javier? No, absolutely not. It did make me understand both Javier and Ellie just a little bit better. I honestly had no idea why Ellie would be attracted to Javier at all until I read this novella. My heart broke just a little bit for both of them, just not enough to condone half of what Javier had done.

Bold Tricks is the third and final book in this series. I have to admit that after reading Shooting Scars, I’m more than a little apprehensive. Karina Halle’s characters aren’t beyond pulling a 180 and throwing readers for a loop. It’s a book that I can’t  not read, but it’s definitely one that I will be holding my breath through till the bitter end. *sigh*

DragonFlyGreen4-5

Leave a Reply

